Swamp Cooler Pops GFCI - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2010, 01:20 AM   #31
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Swamp cooler pops GFCI


If you going to read the amps on the motor load as I say before use the clamp on that is the safest one you can use and do not use the multimeter for reading current more than just a amp or two the most otherwise it can wreck it.

The motor starting current will wreck the mulitmeter pretty fast.

The clamp on ampmeter I am not sure what they cost but IIRC it will be about 50 to 80 Euros {Dollars } unless you ask someone whom have one then they can loan ya one { throw in a case of beer or soda useally do the trick }

Merci.
Marc

Advertisement

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 01:23 AM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Swamp cooler pops GFCI


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
If you going to read the amps on the motor load as I say before use the clamp on that is the safest one you can use and do not use the multimeter for reading current more than just a amp or two the most otherwise it can wreck it.

The motor starting current will wreck the mulitmeter pretty fast.

The clamp on ampmeter I am not sure what they cost but IIRC it will be about 50 to 80 Euros {Dollars } unless you ask someone whom have one then they can loan ya one { throw in a case of beer or soda useally do the trick }

Merci.
Marc
Ok thanks for that. I'll ask around and see. Maybe the tool rental place here in town has one if all else fails.
broken68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 07:59 AM   #33
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,431
Rewards Points: 2,524
Default

Swamp cooler pops GFCI


I meant current drain, but most people understand the term voltage better, because they do not realize that other factors are in play to get their lights lit, etc.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 10:55 AM   #34
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,255
Rewards Points: 2,480
Default

Swamp cooler pops GFCI


Broken68

You mention that sometimes it takes 5 minutes for the gfci to trip...? If you have a fault to ground or neutral or hot the trip is usually immediate. A winding insulation short/leakage I think would be immediate not in 5 minutes or so.... are you sure there isn't moisture dripping or forming on an electrical connection after it operates for awhile? the fact it only trips on HI should narrow down to pump or motor or moisture. The motor has a high speed winding or it may be the pump that starts automatically when high is selected ...not sure. The fact that it trips the gfci indicates a safety issue as current is going somewhere it shouldn't. Motors for these things are required to not have so much leakage that they trip a gfci unless they are faulty like a bad winding or something. IMO operating it on gfci is not a bad idea.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 09-03-2010 at 11:05 AM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 11:18 AM   #35
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,255
Rewards Points: 2,480
Default

Swamp cooler pops GFCI


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
I meant current drain, but most people understand the term voltage better, because they do not realize that other factors are in play to get their lights lit, etc.
No problem Greg just wasn't sure where you were going with the term voltage.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 06:07 PM   #36
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Swamp cooler pops GFCI


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Broken68

You mention that sometimes it takes 5 minutes for the gfci to trip...? If you have a fault to ground or neutral or hot the trip is usually immediate. A winding insulation short/leakage I think would be immediate not in 5 minutes or so.... are you sure there isn't moisture dripping or forming on an electrical connection after it operates for awhile? the fact it only trips on HI should narrow down to pump or motor or moisture. The motor has a high speed winding or it may be the pump that starts automatically when high is selected ...not sure. The fact that it trips the gfci indicates a safety issue as current is going somewhere it shouldn't. Motors for these things are required to not have so much leakage that they trip a gfci unless they are faulty like a bad winding or something. IMO operating it on gfci is not a bad idea.
Well it started off being instantly once the cooler was switched to high cool or high vent. I changed out the breaker at the box and now it runs roughly 5 mins before it pops the gfci. I'm still looking for a clamp on style ammeter. but I've got the word out.
broken68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 06:46 PM   #37
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,431
Rewards Points: 2,524
Default

Swamp cooler pops GFCI


They should have them at Lowes or Home Depot in the Electrical section with the tools.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 07:42 PM   #38
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Swamp cooler pops GFCI


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
They should have them at Lowes or Home Depot in the Electrical section with the tools.
yeah just trying to find one local. Our nearest Lowe's and Home Depot is an hour drive away one way.
broken68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 09:00 PM   #39
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Swamp cooler pops GFCI


Well I have had the exact same problem with my unit I just put together. I got a old swamp cooler from my father in law and totally gutted it out and put new everything into the box. I have a 1 hp motor running the unit. After getting everything set up and running high cool would work fine for me but as soon as I switched it to low cool it would trip my gfi in garage! The strange thing is that sometimes it would do it right away and other times it would take 30 min. or so. I checked the amps my cooler was running and that part seemed fine. I went ahead and took out my gfi unit in garage I have heard that they do go bad sometimes if they trip a lot. I bought a 20 amp up stream and a 20 amp down stream gfi installed it and have had no problem since! The 15 amp down stream was the issue I beleive.

Advertisement

josh86442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
20 amp GFCI breaker pops when pool pump is turned on. jagrunner Electrical 11 03-19-2010 05:31 PM
Removing swamp cooler control Pharmjae Electrical 3 02-10-2010 04:36 PM
Swamp cooler vents Summiteer HVAC 4 02-04-2010 05:59 PM
new gfci on new circuit pops rtoni Electrical 39 11-15-2008 11:18 AM
Swamp Cooler vs AC mtcone HVAC 3 05-19-2008 03:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts