Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-26-2006, 08:44 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Suspected open/loose service neutral


I had a BGE (local power company) service person come out to investigate what I believe to be an open/loose neutral problem. The service person did not believe there to be a problem. (and didn't even seem to understand that power traveled in a loop and needs a return path) When a clamp-on amp meter is applied to each of the main loads in my panel, amps are seen coming in as there should be (~15A on one, ~5 on the other at the time of the test) When the meter is applied to the neutral, zero amps are shown returning through the service neutral (not even a fraction of an amp, totally zero). When the meter is applied to the house grounding (connected to pipes) anywhere from 5-10 amps are flowing through the ground. This seems to point to no current returning through the service neutral and all flowing through the grounding line. The service tech only checked voltage between the hots and neutral in the meter box and the main panel (which I think since the neutral is bonded to the grounding in the panel, it would just flow back through the grounding and give a false positive) No check was done at the transformer or with the neutral isolated from the grounding while the system was powered down. My father used to be an electrician and said that it doesn't sound right for all of the current to be returning through the ground and nothing through the service neutral, so I wanted to get the opinion of a currently licensed electrician before I contact bge again about it.

mrtomwj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 11:38 AM   #2
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Suspected open/loose service neutral


yes, you have a legitimate problem

mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 02:52 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Suspected open/loose service neutral


You have a major problem. The current is returning to the system via the waterlines and someone else house up the street.

Get them back to fix the problem.
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 04:19 PM   #4
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Suspected open/loose service neutral


Put in another trouble call to BG&E. Multiple trouble calls from the same address will often cause the dispatcher to send a different troubleman.

They should know better than to just do meter check for a suspected loose neutral. They should either use the "beast of burden" tool that every BG&E trouble truck has, or visually examine every aerial tap and the transformer taps.
mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 05:03 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,856
Rewards Points: 2,506
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Suspected open/loose service neutral


The test they did revealed on open neutral. If the guy doing the test didn't recognize that he should not be doing that type of repair work. I would call them back ASAP.
There should be no current flowing on the ground wire. This is the type of problem that kills plumbers who are not carefull when working on service laterals.

Last edited by joed; 09-26-2006 at 05:05 PM.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 08:46 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Suspected open/loose service neutral


They came back out yesterday and finally pinpointed to problem to the underground neutral feeding to my meter. There was a break in the line underground that was an 8" section that was corroded/fried...basically looked like white powder and toothpasted :-P So they cut out all the corrosion and put a splice in and all is good now. Thanks for the help!

mrtomwj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
12v diff between ground and neutral at panel am9518 Electrical 7 02-25-2008 06:28 PM
200 amp panel with a 100 amp service? alexz Electrical 10 07-29-2007 10:00 PM
Why is this? Ron The Plumber Electrical 11 02-28-2007 05:14 PM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 05:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.