Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2013, 09:50 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 540
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Surge protector of GFCI?


I just had a water softener installed. I want to use a GFCI outlet in the garage, but it's already being used by our refrigerator and a Verizon FIOS backup device.

I found a pretty neat solution that turns 2 outlets into six, but the device is also a surge protector. Are there any issues with installing a surge protector on a GFCI circuit?

kcrossley2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 10:07 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Surge protector of GFCI?


That should be fine. In the event of a surge, the GFCI will trip because of the way the surge protector works. But that should not be a problem.

__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 10:10 PM   #3
Member
 
Msradell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 1,211
Rewards Points: 568
Default

Surge protector of GFCI?


You may want to consider running a separate circuit that doesn't have a GFCI for the refrigerator. A refrigerator can be used without a GFCI and if you have one and it trips you lose everything in the refrigerator without knowing it.
Msradell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 11:24 PM   #4
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,625
Rewards Points: 1,124
Default

Surge protector of GFCI?


Quote:
You may want to consider running a separate circuit that doesn't have a GFCI for the refrigerator. A refrigerator can be used without a GFCI
Not in a garage. The GFCI is required.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (08-05-2013)
Old 08-06-2013, 12:09 AM   #5
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,471
Rewards Points: 2,286
Default

Surge protector of GFCI?


As noted above....GFCI required....but how come you just don't wire some additional outlets off the load side of the GFCI?
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI after dimmer switch curiousB Electrical 16 04-08-2013 04:18 PM
Replacing kitchen gfci with gfci breakers-something's not right Fpbaum Electrical 14 05-01-2012 08:43 AM
GFCI - White & Black Both HOT? hagler Electrical 11 03-19-2012 08:29 AM
Ungrounded GFCI + Surge Protector squigish Electrical 4 08-16-2009 04:45 PM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.