Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2010, 03:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Surface Mounted Receptacles - Big Bulge?


We're building an alcove off the upstairs hallway. The entry hall has a double-high ceiling and we're going to put the alcove in the dead space on the second floor. We want to poke through one wall into the MBR and connect wiring for three outlets in the alcove on two walls (the rest of the alcove will be enclosed by railing open to the upstairs hallway).

Question: We don't want to bust open 20 feet of wall and pull the wiring throught he studs. Is there any king of surface wiring where you can recess the receptacles so they don't bulge out any more than the wiring itself, or are there any "almost flat" surface receptacles?

HandyMartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 04:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario Canada, Toronto to be exact.
Posts: 1,373
Default

Surface Mounted Receptacles - Big Bulge?


I believe this is what you’re looking for: http://www.realtor.com/home-garden/do-it-yourself/electrical/installing-surface-wiring-channel.aspx

epson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 07:13 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Surface Mounted Receptacles - Big Bulge?


This is an interesting article and gives a good explanation of how to install surface wiring and outlets. But, it doesn't answer my question about whether there are any surface outlets that don't bulge out any more than the wiring itself. The outlets (receptacles) bulge out much more, which what I would like to avoid, if possible.
HandyMartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 07:16 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

Surface Mounted Receptacles - Big Bulge?


Take a look on Wiremold's website for shallow depth boxes. I'm not sure if they make any as shallow as the Wiremold itself.

This one is 15/16" deep:

http://www.amazon.com/Wiremold-B-2-S.../dp/B00004W3ZI

I don't know if you are going to find anything shallower.

Wiremold isn't the nicest looking thing. Why not just have an electrician come in, make a few holes, and run the receptacles the right way? Or you can always DIY it.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 07:39 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,322
Default

Surface Mounted Receptacles - Big Bulge?


Will this work?

http://www.arlcatalog.com/Fan_Specia...nstruction.htm

Or you could mount a recessed clock receptacle in a standard box.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 08:35 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,322
Default

Surface Mounted Receptacles - Big Bulge?


Quote:
Originally Posted by OnThePike View Post
How would surface-mount raceway (or similar) enjoin this legally?
Surface mounted raceways are a recognized wiring method. Not the prettiest, but it does have its' place.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 08:36 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

Surface Mounted Receptacles - Big Bulge?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Surface mounted raceways are a recognized wiring method. Not the prettiest, but it does have its' place.
He is asking how a surface mounted raceway would intersect with the recessed box you linked to.

The OP is looking for a surface mount box that is no deeper than the raceway itself, which I doubt he is going to find.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 08:53 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,322
Default

Surface Mounted Receptacles - Big Bulge?


Thanks Proby, i thought I was missing something and I sure didn't understand what I thought was the legal talk.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 09:58 PM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,854
Default

Surface Mounted Receptacles - Big Bulge?


I concur with Proby that your not going to find a flush receptacle box with a surface mounted wiremold.. I'm no expert with the stuff but there are single receptacles that mount in the wiremold channel sorta like a power strip. This might be as close as your going to get.


__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 10:12 PM   #10
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Surface Mounted Receptacles - Big Bulge?


that picture would be of plugmold.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 10:47 AM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,322
Default

Surface Mounted Receptacles - Big Bulge?


Would it be possible to post a pic of the alcove and the wall?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 12:45 PM   #12
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,854
Default

Surface Mounted Receptacles - Big Bulge?


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
that picture would be of plugmold.
Well ok .. plugmold ... It came off the legrand wiremold website. Anyway I never use the stuff so am totally unfamiliar with it. Just trying to see what might work by googling ... always risky when you don't have experience with the entire product line.

Hey did you see that "let me google it for you" that Speedy did on this thread ...
Multi-tap warehouse lights

kinda neat if you haven't seen it before
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 03:39 PM   #13
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Surface Mounted Receptacles - Big Bulge?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Well ok .. plugmold ... It came off the legrand wiremold website. Anyway I never use the stuff so am totally unfamiliar with it. Just trying to see what might work by googling ... always risky when you don't have experience with the entire product line.

Hey did you see that "let me google it for you" that Speedy did on this thread ...
Multi-tap warehouse lights

kinda neat if you haven't seen it before
I wasn't trying to be nasty, just put a name with the product. That way, if they were interested in chasing that path, just gives them a bit more info to start with.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 04:06 PM   #14
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,854
Default

Surface Mounted Receptacles - Big Bulge?


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
I wasn't trying to be nasty, just put a name with the product. That way, if they were interested in chasing that path, just gives them a bit more info to start with.
Sorry didn't mean to make you think you were being nasty .. I knew what you were doing I was just poking some fun at myself mostly for being so freakin retarded at what the heck that stuff was.

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
receptacles, surface wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
Rewiring - adding receptacles, paths to use RST Electrical 2 03-14-2010 02:29 PM
Surface mounted panel. How insulate before closing wall. bobwaters Electrical 2 09-20-2009 10:57 AM
Confused on surface mounted fluorescents... Alan Electrical 2 01-04-2009 07:33 PM
receptacles have no power, im at a loss reds_21 Electrical 3 10-05-2008 10:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.