Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2011, 12:30 PM   #16
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

Surface Box for light


Much better!

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
jamiedolan (06-01-2011)
Old 06-01-2011, 01:00 PM   #17
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Surface Box for light


I don't understand why you still had to drill a large hole for the connector. Could you not have brought the cable into another KO?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 02:02 PM   #18
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Surface Box for light


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
I don't understand why you still had to drill a large hole for the connector. Could you not have brought the cable into another KO?
I could have used any of the KO's for the clamp & romex; but I had to make a hole somewhere for the cable to go through and the clamp to sit up in. I think the clamps are right about 7/8" or 1" across. I only drilled a 1-1/4" hole, since I mounted the box on the ceiling surface, there would have been no where for the clamp to go if I didn't have that size hole.

Thanks.
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 02:12 PM   #19
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Surface Box for light


All done, I think they look nice. They have those crystal style bulbs in 60 watt. I have to connect them into a junction box in the attic and wire them up. I have to pull over a 15a circuit for them because everything I have up there is 20a, no big deal, It is only about 10' from a panel.

I'm going to put a Decora style dimmer on them, man are those Decora style dimmers expensive.



View from outside ( I think it looks really nice to see the fixtures in the windows like this; I think I'm going to do the same thing in the other part of the kitchen by the front windows).






I still have 4" cans I'm planning on installing in the sofit boxes; not sure how much I need them even, the single one of these threw off a lot of light, now with the 2 side by side it should be pretty bright in that part of the kitchen. I think I will still do some cans, in case we need extra light over the counter area.

Thanks!!

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 02:24 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Surface Box for light


Looks like a good job, but I'm with Jim, I still don't know why you couldn't have used one of the knockouts
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 02:48 PM   #21
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Surface Box for light


The boxes are surface mounted, not recessed flush with the plaster. I thought a hole had been drilled into the bottom of the joist. I was mistaken.

Looks good.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
jamiedolan (06-01-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solid Surface vs Granite and Quartz jbeall General DIY Discussions 26 03-15-2011 04:49 PM
Is a door slab still paintable if the surface is dirty? darsunt Building & Construction 4 12-19-2010 06:26 AM
Preparing Surface for Seeding pumpkinpatch Landscaping & Lawn Care 9 09-07-2010 04:15 PM
Surface mounting breaker box Nhrafan Electrical 3 04-09-2008 03:16 PM
Another name for surface wiring/wire-mold? fw2007 Electrical 4 01-09-2008 05:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.