Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2010, 07:50 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 112
Share |
Default

Supporting Romex


I'm running some 110v wiring from outlet to outlet exposed on concrete block in my basement. I have the galvanized clips to support it. How often are they required to be spaced? I know there is also another requirement to support it just before going into the box, what is that spacing? Thanks!

smata67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 08:40 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,248
Default

Supporting Romex


8" to box,then every 4 ft. Try conduit?

bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bobelectric For This Useful Post:
waterman1971 (05-03-2010)
Old 05-02-2010, 03:09 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Supporting Romex


If the box has a connector, or built-in clamps, then the first strap can be up to 12" away. Type NM cable must be supported at least every 4 feet thereafter.

334.30
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 09:08 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Default

Supporting Romex


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
Try conduit?
That's what I was thinking. Does code even allow NM installed exposed on concrete block (where it's easily reachable by the average person)? I thought NM cable had to always be protected in one way or another... either burried in a wall, or surface mounted to some place not typically accessed (like a crawl space or attic) or up out of reach in an exposed basement?
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 09:45 AM   #5
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

Supporting Romex


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
Try conduit?

If you run a long distance in conduit, you should use THHN/THWN wire (individual black, green, white) instead of romex. I think the rule is that for a short run, you can put romex in conduit to protect from damage, but over a longer distance run, it should be individual strands.

Do I have that right?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 11:09 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Supporting Romex


As long as the conduit is sized large enough for the romex it is OK & meets code

(3) #12 THWN need 1/2" conduit
(1) 12-2 cable (.450") will also fit in 1/2" & meet code
But the 12-2 will be a PAIN to pull thru any distance
I sleeved 12-2 UF in ~8' of conduit to go into a storage area junction box
From there I went with THWN in the conduit

I did not want a complete run of conduit back to the sub - also a pain

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Identify age of old Romex - also funny ground Leah Frances Electrical 9 02-06-2012 12:07 AM
romex clamped against bx knockout in old box kbm774 Electrical 11 08-16-2010 01:53 PM
Connecting Romex at Panel Bocolo Electrical 14 02-21-2009 05:55 AM
Running Romex Bocolo Electrical 6 02-20-2009 09:58 AM
Cost Difference Between Conduit & Romex Shawns4 Electrical 39 08-25-2008 05:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.