Supplying Power To An Outbuilding - 4 Wire AWG 2 AL Type Use 2? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2010, 03:16 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 81
Default

Supplying Power to an Outbuilding - 4 Wire AWG 2 AL Type Use 2?


The February 2004 Journal of Light Construction has an article in which they indicate that the required way to run power to an outbuilding is via an insulated neutral, which means you can't use common USE cable with a bare stranded neutral, and 'you should use four individual insulated cables approved for direct burial'. They also show the wire running in conduit, but only until it reaches underground at the house/raises above ground in the outbuilding (that is, the wire between the structures underground is NOT in conduit)

I have some '4 Wire AWG 2 AL Type Use 2' wire. I don't believe it is approved for direct burial. Can I use this instead if I put it in a continuous plastic conduit the entire distance?

Note: Can't link to the article since it is member only, but see the attached picture.
Attached Thumbnails
Supplying Power to an Outbuilding - 4 Wire AWG 2 AL Type Use 2?-outbuilding.jpg  

Advertisement

toddmanqa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 03:44 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,382
Rewards Points: 3,558
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Supplying Power to an Outbuilding - 4 Wire AWG 2 AL Type Use 2?


The picture is wrong. Four individual wires MUST be in conduit.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 04:20 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 518
Rewards Points: 298
Default

Supplying Power to an Outbuilding - 4 Wire AWG 2 AL Type Use 2?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The picture is wrong. Four individual wires MUST be in conduit.
The diagram doesn't say wires, it says cables. There are single conductor direct burial cables.

Mark
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 05:25 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

Supplying Power to an Outbuilding - 4 Wire AWG 2 AL Type Use 2?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The picture is wrong. Four individual wires MUST be in conduit.
Not true. Ever heard of URD?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
J. V. (10-30-2010)
Old 10-28-2010, 06:27 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Supplying Power to an Outbuilding - 4 Wire AWG 2 AL Type Use 2?


IF those wires are type USE, then your diagram is correct, no further conduit is required. Type USE is approved for direct burial as indicated.

On another note, a #2 USE wire is rated for 90 Amps in such an application.

You can use a 100 Amp panel in the garage, provided it is fed through a 90 Amp breaker at the source.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 10:34 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 81
Default

Supplying Power to an Outbuilding - 4 Wire AWG 2 AL Type Use 2?


Thanks for the replies.

I do have a follow-up question:

Assuming I place a 100 watt panel in the garage with a 90 AMP breaker, and I want to place the entire set of four cables in conduit just to be safe, what size conduit do I need to use to avoid any overheating issues?

Thanks!

Advertisement

toddmanqa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
burial , conduit , outbuilding , underground , wiring


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replacing 3 wire to 4 wire compressor fan - please advise! frazwr01 HVAC 2 06-27-2010 11:44 AM
How to properly wire nut power outlet llckll Electrical 20 01-09-2010 07:17 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Wire size and type in Rigid Metal Conduit Al the Diy guy Electrical 5 02-05-2008 09:31 PM
I really need help! POOK Electrical 34 04-20-2007 08:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts