Super Newbie Question, Help! - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2012, 09:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Super Newbie Question, help!


Hey guys, I'm building some light boxes for my band to use on stage. Inside the boxes I have two 500 Watt, Utilitech Halogen Work Lights.

Ideally, I'd like to have all four lights running into a surge protector, so that I could turn both boxes on with the flip of one switch.

Is this possible? What type of surge protector/power strip would I need? Will 500 watt bulbs be too bright?

Thank you so much !


-Cody.

Advertisement

cbrown_869 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 10:14 PM   #2
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

Super Newbie Question, help!


What do you mean by "4 lights" ?

If you mean 2 boxes with 2 bulbs each, that would be 2000 watts which is about 17 amps (assuming they are 120 volt), so a 20A breaker would work.

If you mean 4 boxes, with 2 bulbs each, then it would take a 40A breaker, but I doubt you'll find a SP rated for 40A feed.

Advertisement

jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 10:32 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Super Newbie Question, help!


Jproffer, I'm sorry, it'd be 2 seperate boxes with 2 bulbs each.

So, something like this would work?

http://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-RS-...6943927&sr=1-1

Thanks again for your help!
cbrown_869 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 10:34 PM   #4
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Super Newbie Question, help!


Four 500 watt Halogen bulbs is going to put out a massive amount of heat.

Be sure that you're able to safely house that amount of heat!
__________________
Check out my on-going Project Thread!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 10:36 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Super Newbie Question, help!


Thadius, thank you! I'll make sure I have plenty of ventilation to the lights!
cbrown_869 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 10:50 PM   #6
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

Super Newbie Question, help!


The surge protector you linked is rated for 20A, so it should be fine for 4-500W lights. Make sure it's plugged into a receptacle that's protected by a 20A breaker or they will only run for........(you thought I memorized the trip curve didn't ya, LOL) well I didn't and I don't know how long, but not forever
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 10:55 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Super Newbie Question, help!


Haha, excellent. Thank you, again! I hope these places know what their breakers can handle!
cbrown_869 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 10:58 PM   #8
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Super Newbie Question, help!


Should be straightforward. I'm pretty sure you can tell a 20A receptacle by looking at it.

As far as I know, 20A-rated plugs always have one of the prongs turned 90 from what you'd expect to see. Thus, 20A-rated receptacles should have one regular and one T-shape prong to accommodate either a (standard) 15A plug or a 20A plug.
__________________
Check out my on-going Project Thread!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 11:07 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Super Newbie Question, help!


If you would like to learn a few things and be sure your light box is safe, be sure to post pictures of it here as you work on it, make wiring connections, etc.

There is a lot of knowledge and experience around here!
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 11:22 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,719
Rewards Points: 2,398
Default

Super Newbie Question, help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by cbrown_869 View Post
Hey guys, I'm building some light boxes for my band to use on stage. Inside the boxes I have two 500 Watt, Utilitech Halogen Work Lights.

Ideally, I'd like to have all four lights running into a surge protector, so that I could turn both boxes on with the flip of one switch.

Is this possible? What type of surge protector/power strip would I need? Will 500 watt bulbs be too bright?

Thank you so much !


-Cody.
The main problem will be HEAT,
These 500w tungsten halogen flood lights produce a LOT of heat,
There will need to be a LOT of air flow !
Or forced cooling (fans).
And gels wont last too long either.
If you go for smaller lamps like 300w,
There will less problems.
But air flow will still be needed !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 11:29 PM   #11
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

Super Newbie Question, help!


Quote:
As far as I know, 20A-rated plugs always have one of the prongs turned 90 from what you'd expect to see. Thus, 20A-rated receptacles should have one regular and one T-shape prong to accommodate either a (standard) 15A plug or a 20A plug.
What you say is true, but just because the rec. is 15A rated doesn't mean it is certainly on a 15A breaker. 15A rec's are allowed on 20A breakers as long as there are at least 2 rec's on the circuit.
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 11:36 PM   #12
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Super Newbie Question, help!


I'm aware that 15A receptacles can be on a 20A breaker in residential. My whole kitchen is wired that way.

I thought I'd read something that said business had to put 20A receptacles on 20A breakers. Is that not accurate?
__________________
Check out my on-going Project Thread!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 11:39 PM   #13
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

Super Newbie Question, help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thadius856 View Post
I'm aware that 15A receptacles can be on a 20A breaker in residential. My whole kitchen is wired that way.

I thought I'd read something that said business had to put 20A receptacles on 20A breakers. Is that not accurate?

AHHHH...that could be right . I better yield to someone else for a "for sure" answer on that one.

Sorry about that ...figured you knew...just throwing that in for future readers. Still, with a business I'm not sure.
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 12:37 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Super Newbie Question, help!


Haha, all of this is over my head. I'm going to make the switch to 250 watt lights to avoid the heat issue and cut down on amp load. Thank y'all for everything!
cbrown_869 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 05:42 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,719
Rewards Points: 2,398
Default

Super Newbie Question, help!


After much experimenting I did find a way to use these
type of cheap flood lights for color washs.
I use 500w ones,
because they are cheap and redily available,
if you like I will try to get a photo of how I did it !
And post it on line early next week .

Advertisement

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEWBIE QUESTION ALERT!! Jamb Extensions Evil Scotsman General DIY Discussions 24 04-12-2011 06:30 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM
Newbie w/a flooring question Laminate v. engineered wood UNCgal91 Flooring 2 08-25-2008 08:29 PM
hrv question indep HVAC 3 07-17-2008 11:39 PM
Newbie Question bjp Introductions 2 10-09-2006 03:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts