Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-18-2010, 05:55 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Sump Pump and GFCI Outlet


I am going to install a sump pump in my basement. I don't have any near by plugs to connect to. I was thinking of connecting wire to one of the lights and running the wire to a new outlet closer to where I am going to install the sump pump. I know the outlet has to be GFCI, but does that have to connect back to the breaker with a GFCI Circuit Breaker or can I just tie into to light and the outlet will act as the breaker?

Thanks

sweetwaters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 06:10 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Sump Pump and GFCI Outlet


As long as it is connected correctly & the outlet is a GFCI it will work
Sumps can pull a lot of power - up to 7a or more
So make sure the circuit can handle it

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 07:26 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Sump Pump and GFCI Outlet


would it be better to run the GFCI outlet directly to the breaker panel on its own circuit? If so what size breaker should I use?

Thanks
sweetwaters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 07:34 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Sump Pump and GFCI Outlet


Most sump pumps usealy take 15 amp circuit unless you have duplex then it will required 20 amp circuit or very large single sump pump motour as well then you will have to bump up to 20 amp circuit.

Majtory of States will required GFCI for sump pumps however check with your local code they may have diffrent info than NEC verison or even CEC verison.

Merci,Marc

P.S. I did ran into couple sump pump that ran on either 240 volts or on triphase supply. { super rare for resdential useage but commercal / Industrail useage yeah it is common }
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 07:36 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Sump Pump and GFCI Outlet


You might want to click on User CP above and enter the state where you are located. My state (Oregon) has amended the NEC so a GFCI is not required for a sump pump. (I don't know about other states.)
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 11:59 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Sump Pump and GFCI Outlet


I updated my location. I live in Massachusetts.

I was planning to put the sump pump on its own circuit. Would it be to much to put it on a 20 amp breaker?

Thanks
sweetwaters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 12:09 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Sump Pump and GFCI Outlet


It is not a issue as long you have 4.0mm˛ { # 12 AWG } conductors but check with your local office for any admendments I do not know what your state do require GFCI or extempted on sump pump useage.

But if they required the GFCI you can get either 15 or 20 Amp GFCI recepetale { the 20 amp cost little more } but the major gotcha if you used singleplex recpetale it must have proper size like example if on 15 amp you can use NEMA 5-15R otherwise if on 20 amp circuit then you must use 5-20R

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 01:04 PM   #8
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Sump Pump and GFCI Outlet


I'd put in a 20-amp breaker with 12/2 wire. Not much more money, and a little more power just in case you decide to add a second pump or something.

Just to clarify what mark was saying - if you have a duplex receptacle (the kind where you can plug in two things), you can use a 15A receptacle on a 20A circuit. If you use a single outlet (only one spot to plug something in) it has to be 20A, unless there is another 15A receptacle somewhere on the circuit (yours probably will not). Did this clarify anything?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 01:19 PM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Sump Pump and GFCI Outlet


Let moi add a photo that worth a bunch of words

Voila! here the photo.,,

20 amp verison singleplex look like.,,




here what the 15 amp verison .,



Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 03:28 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Sump Pump and GFCI Outlet


Thanks Frech and secutanudu, you two did clear up a lot for me.. I will probably run a 20 amp circuit to a 20 amp single outlet.

Thanks
sweetwaters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 06:01 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Sump Pump and GFCI Outlet


If its a 20a circuit you can put a 15a duplex receptacle for the sump
My sump only runs in the Spring usually
So I can leave it plugged in & I have another outlet to use if needed

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI problem with pond pump sandsmarc Electrical 21 04-05-2013 12:51 PM
20 amp GFCI breaker pops when pool pump is turned on. jagrunner Electrical 11 03-19-2010 04:31 PM
Sump Pump Electrical Problem loftezy Electrical 5 09-06-2009 06:14 PM
new gfci on new circuit pops rtoni Electrical 39 11-15-2008 10:18 AM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.