Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-30-2008, 12:23 PM   #1

Share |

Summer House Electrics

Hi,

I have recently built a summer house and fed mains to it. Mains comes from the shed (which comes from the house) and in the summer house i connected it to a crabtree garage consumer unit. I did this as i will be using it as an office with computer equipment connected to it. I have a mains circuit and a lighting circuit connected to the consumer unit.

Problem i have is that as soon as any electricity is drawn through the consumer unit the mains swith on the consumer unit trips (not the mains or lighting circuit). At first i thought it was a wiring problem so disconnected everything from the consumer unit and connected a lamp to it but again switching on the lamp caused the mains to trip.

I'm no expert and was wondering if the consumer unit has to be connected directly to an uninterupted mains feed. In the shed there is a freezer and outdoor lights connected before the electricity reaches the consumer unit. I'm also certain everything is wired correctly.

Does anybody have any ideas?

Cheers,

Stu.

stu_bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 12:40 PM   #2

Summer House Electrics

Quote:
Originally Posted by stu_bill View Post
Hi,

I have recently built a summer house and fed mains to it. Mains comes from the shed (which comes from the house) and in the summer house i connected it to a crabtree garage consumer unit. I did this as i will be using it as an office with computer equipment connected to it. I have a mains circuit and a lighting circuit connected to the consumer unit.