Such A Thing As A Planning Program? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2008, 07:29 AM   #1
SDG
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Such a thing as a planning program?


Hi all,

I'm finishing the rest of my basement (850 sq ft) and I'm up to the wiring. Does anyone know of a online tool or program you can install that will help you with figuring out where to run what wires?

Something like a simulator or builder program where you put in each item you are planning to wire up then wire them in the program to see if it makes sense and works.

I did consult with an electrician and he gave me the basics but I've got a lot of wiring to do and would love any program that would help me out.

Thanks all
Shawn

Advertisement

SDG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 08:06 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Such a thing as a planning program?


I don't know of any right now, but you could always go to the old pencil and paper. What are your plans for wiring? Will the basement have a bathroom? There are several requirements for different rooms, like afcis, tamper proof receptacles, etc.

Advertisement


Last edited by rgsgww; 10-16-2008 at 08:10 AM.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 08:37 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Such a thing as a planning program?


They have programs that will lay out the code required items. I have never seen anything that tells where to run wires.
How could it possibly anyway???
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 10:52 AM   #4
SDG
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Such a thing as a planning program?


Basement has a bathroom, bedroom, playroom, gym, office

I know I need an arc fault circuit for the plugs in the bedroom

I also know i'll have to put in gfci (sp?) plugs for the bathroom

Gym will have a treadmill so it needs it's own 15a circuit


What I was looking for in a program was in what order do I wire the 14/2 and 14/3 cables.

I know no program would know where I want the wires to run in the walls, I'm just wondering if there is one that would show you the proper order to wire up various things into a circuit.

I've been looking at diagrams that show how to do stuff like 2 switches with 1 light or 2-3 switches controllling several lights, but have yet to see any diagram or basic info on how to properly wire up a full circuit that has a mixture of stuff in it.
SDG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 12:01 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Such a thing as a planning program?


Quote:
Originally Posted by SDG View Post
Basement has a bathroom, bedroom, playroom, gym, office

I know I need an arc fault circuit for the plugs in the bedroom

I also know i'll have to put in gfci (sp?) plugs for the bathroom

Gym will have a treadmill so it needs it's own 15a circuit


What I was looking for in a program was in what order do I wire the 14/2 and 14/3 cables.

I know no program would know where I want the wires to run in the walls, I'm just wondering if there is one that would show you the proper order to wire up various things into a circuit.

I've been looking at diagrams that show how to do stuff like 2 switches with 1 light or 2-3 switches controllling several lights, but have yet to see any diagram or basic info on how to properly wire up a full circuit that has a mixture of stuff in it.

You NEED 12/2 for the bathroom, it has to be on a 20 amp breaker and needs to be a dedicated gfci protected circuit serving ONLY that room.(code02,05,08)

Whats going to be in the office? Use a 20 amp dedicated outlet for computer equipment, you don't have to but its recommended.

Pretty much all of these rooms need tp outlets.(nec08)

The bedroom,playroom,and gym need afci protection. (bathroom will have gfci protection-none needed)(nec08)

What code does your state follow? 2002,2005,2008?
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 01:58 PM   #6
SDG
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Such a thing as a planning program?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
What code does your state follow? 2002,2005,2008?
I'm in Canada...

I think I'm going to have to consult a local electrician a bit to find out where I need 14/2 vs 12/2, gfci and also 15a vs 20a.


Tks for the eye opener guys hehe, I was aware of some of this, such as putting the treadmill on it's own circuit.

So I need 20a for my office, and that circuit should only have the 2 or 3 electrical outlets of that room and nothing else? Crap, that means I'll have to plan for another circuit.
SDG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 06:25 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Such a thing as a planning program?


Quote:
Originally Posted by SDG View Post

So I need 20a for my office, and that circuit should only have the 2 or 3 electrical outlets of that room and nothing else? Crap, that means I'll have to plan for another circuit.
No, you don't have too, it really depends on how big the load will be. Most offices use alot of power. If your equipment pulls not so much, it won't really matter.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 11:40 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Such a thing as a planning program?


Any plugs or lights you will be putting in will only need to be on a 15A circuit with 14/2.

If you go with 12/2 on a 20A breaker you have to by code put in the
t- slot plugs and not the regular plugs, to me it makes no sense to run 12/2 with 20A.

Your bathroom can be on any convenince outlet circuit but if it was me I would put the bathroom by itself.

AFCI are only required in bedrooms in Canada.

Save yourself the time and effort and go buy a 75M roll of wire and start pulling some wire. When you run out see how much wireing you have left and see how much more you need. Start with pulling the 14/2 and keep track of where you need the 3 wire then go buy that much. The only place you will use 3 wire is for 3 way switches and multiwire branch circuits.

Hope this helps.

Darren
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 11:18 AM   #9
Creative Electrician
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Such a thing as a planning program?


14? Here we go again.
BeastinBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 12:03 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Such a thing as a planning program?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BeastinBlack View Post
14? Here we go again.
HUH???
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 04:45 PM   #11
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Such a thing as a planning program?


this may be helpful....
http://www.smartdraw.com/specials/co...FRIcawodLUFILQ
it's trialware too.

DM
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 08:19 PM   #12
SDG
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Such a thing as a planning program?


Thanks for the information everyone.

I went and bought 14/2 and 14/3 wire and all the various boxes I'll need as well as all my lights.

I've already placed all the boxes, going to place the light boxes next and then pull wire.

Bought an Arc Fault circuit breaker and a few dual-15a since my panel is almost full. I'll get an electricial to wire those in for me after I run all my circuits.

I've spent well over 1,000 already on all this stuff, wire is expensive...

Advertisement

SDG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IBEW Joint Apprenticeship Program arichard21 Electrical 7 01-09-2008 09:22 PM
planning software?? Klint Building & Construction 4 01-02-2008 09:24 PM
Improper A/C sizing - Responsibility to Fix? Dragon HVAC 14 07-05-2007 02:35 PM
Planning for future when wiring crecore Electrical 2 04-25-2006 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts