Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2013, 10:39 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: roanoke, texas
Posts: 182
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

subpanels and not bonding the ground bar


If you separate the neutrals from the grounds what happens if
the bare ground wire touches the back of the panel?
Or is the neutral bar that you remove the bonding screw from
to separate from the panel?

kt82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 10:55 PM   #2
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 147
Rewards Points: 0
Default

subpanels and not bonding the ground bar


Quote:
Originally Posted by kt82 View Post
If you separate the neutrals from the grounds what happens if
the bare ground wire touches the back of the panel?
Or is the neutral bar that you remove the bonding screw from
to separate from the panel?
The back of the panel will be tied to the ground (so entire cabinet is grounded.) The neutral bar is what is completely isolated from ground in a sub.

diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to diystephen For This Useful Post:
kt82 (02-06-2013)
Old 02-06-2013, 11:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: roanoke, texas
Posts: 182
Rewards Points: 0
Default

subpanels and not bonding the ground bar


thanks makes sense .if I have #2 feeder wire my ground wire is___?
kt82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 11:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: roanoke, texas
Posts: 182
Rewards Points: 0
Default

subpanels and not bonding the ground bar


Are you asking how to size the;

Equipment Grounding Conductor? 250.122

Grounding Electrode Conductor? 250.66

Grounded Conductor (the neutral) 220.61
In what way is the "neutral" considered a grounded conductor?
kt82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 06:01 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

subpanels and not bonding the ground bar


Are you answering your own questions?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 07:14 AM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,588
Rewards Points: 10
Default

subpanels and not bonding the ground bar


I think they are looking to see if they would be using the correct article to size the conductors. They seem to have found an answer, but want someone to say whether it is correct.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 07:40 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: roanoke, texas
Posts: 182
Rewards Points: 0
Default

subpanels and not bonding the ground bar


just thinking out loud so I can frame my question
Is #6 the correct ground with #2 feeding the subpanel

kt82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.