Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-31-2011, 11:44 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

subpanel wiring


i am wiring a 100 amp subpanel in my detached shop. running 3 #1 aluminum for 2 hots and a common, and a #8 copper for ground from main to sub panel. My question is in my main panel, the ground bus bar does not have large enough "holes" to accept the #1 common. Is it acceptable to split the #1 into 2 strands to fit into the ground bar, or is there some part that i need to screw into the ground bar to attach the #1 as one wire?

MikeyG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 12:22 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,522
Default

subpanel wiring


You cannot split the conductor and use two holes. Here is what one brand of adapter looks like. They should match your panel brand.

http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=...1t:429,r:8,s:0

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 12:42 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Default

subpanel wiring


I'll look for the adaptor at the supply house. Thanks.
MikeyG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 09:56 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Default

subpanel wiring


In reading through other posts, I see some things i need to do. I read that i need to separate the 2 ground bars in the subpanel--is this true? If so, does it matter which side i connect to the 2 ground rods driven into the ground outside? Also, I am bonding copper water pipe in the shop, does it matter which side i ground on?
Also, there is a green screw next to the main ground lug in the subpanel for bonding the panel. Do i need to bond the panel in addition to the 2 grounds from the main panel?
MikeyG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 09:58 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

subpanel wiring


You can use one of these. See picture.
Attached Images
 
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 10:06 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

subpanel wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyG3 View Post
In reading through other posts, I see some things i need to do. I read that i need to separate the 2 ground bars in the subpanel--is this true? If so, does it matter which side i connect to the 2 ground rods driven into the ground outside? Also, I am bonding copper water pipe in the shop, does it matter which side i ground on?
Also, there is a green screw next to the main ground lug in the subpanel for bonding the panel. Do i need to bond the panel in addition to the 2 grounds from the main panel?
Yes, they must be separated and do not use the green bonding screw that came with panel. This self tapping machine screw bonds the neutral bar to the enclosure. Remove it, if it's installed.

The neutral and grounding bars are not the same thing. Usually you have to buy the ground bar to install in the panel. Just put all the grounds on the grounding bar and the neutrals on the neutral bar/bars.
Some panels have a bar that connects the two neutral bars on each side. GE comes to mind. You can remove the bar and put the neutrals on one side and the grounds on the other side.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 11:18 AM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,839
Default

subpanel wiring


Some panels allow you to remove the bar connecting the neutral bar and then use the bonding screw to bond the panel. This then becomes the equipment grounding bar and the other, isolated from the equipment grounding bar, is used as the neutral buss.

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a sub panel to another sub panel Uncle Wayne Electrical 25 02-08-2011 09:50 AM
correct garage subpanel wiring lawsklsux Electrical 14 11-14-2010 10:54 PM
Yet another subpanel wiring question Chris_M Electrical 6 06-10-2010 05:12 PM
A few slightly different questions on subpanel wiring. Chris Dopp Electrical 8 06-26-2009 09:45 PM
Wiring 100A subpanel nebulous Electrical 9 08-29-2007 02:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.