Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-01-2011, 09:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Subpanel Wire Questions


I am installing a 100 amp subpanel right next to my main 200 amp service panel for my basmeent re-model (both panels are GE). I've determined that I need to use 2-2-2-6 copper wire. What wire type do I need to buy? Also, if I buy four seperate pieces (as I don't think I can find a bundled wire) what do I need to do?

-Can I just run the wires from one pannel to the next through the wall? Or do they need to be protected in conduit or something?
-Can all four wires go through the same clamp at each pannel?
-I'll need to color code the wires with colored electrical tape, red and black for the two hots, white for neutral, and green for the ground? Can I color code the ground or does it have to been a green colored insulation?
-Is THHN wire appropriate?
-Anything else I'm missing?

Thanks for the help.

mykayel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 10:15 PM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Subpanel Wire Questions


your wire must either be a cable or in a conduit. If you choose pipe yes THHN is acceptable. Because you must be either in a cable or conduit your wires will be in the same clamp/fitting. The ground must be green. The others are large enough that they are allowed to be phase taped. Be sure to keep the grounds and neutrals separate in a sub panel.

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 01:35 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Subpanel Wire Questions


You don't need anything larger than a #3 copper for your hot lines; also a #8 is sufficient for the grounding conductor.

BUT IF you decide to upsize to a #2 for the hot lines, then a #6 ground would be required.

A short conduit nipple (I'd use PVC) is sufficient as well.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a subpanel to a sub-panel and other questions CardinalPilot Electrical 14 03-30-2011 02:23 PM
What type of wire for small subpanel feeder? jshattoc Electrical 6 01-23-2011 10:02 PM
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 04:02 PM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 01:00 PM
running wire to a detached shed subpanel amakarevic Electrical 9 03-27-2008 05:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.