Subpanel Vs. Water Supply - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2011, 08:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,302
Rewards Points: 1,038
Question

subpanel vs. water supply


i was wondering if there are any rules as to how far a subpanel has to be from water supply.

i have a shed into which water pipe and conduit come in one corner within inches of one another (understandably, i didn't wanna dig 2 separate 3 ft deep ditches). the water comes in through a frost hydrant and the conduit for electricity is pretty much right under it. to minimize the gauge 6 fat cable traveling through the shed, i was gonna put the subpanel right above the hydrant.

was wondering if that might be hazardous or place me at odd with code regulations. i live in the mid atlantic region, U.S.A.

picture attached
Attached Thumbnails
subpanel vs. water supply-p1020764.jpg  

Advertisement

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 09:18 PM   #2
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

subpanel vs. water supply


Can you turn the hydrant head 90 degrees clock wise? It’ll help get you clearance, and if it ever sprays, it’ll tend to spray more away from the panel. And no, you won’t be able to mount it over the hydro, here’s why…

Clearances required…(fyi…this area not to be used for storage either)

3 ft from the front of the panel, outward from the wall (depth of working space)

The width of the panel or 30”, whichever is greater (width of working space). Panels are usually less than 30”, so usually 30” applies. This can be measured from the left side or right side, or any place in between. As long as there’s 30” clearance left to right. The panel door has to be able to open at least 90 degrees.

From the floor to 6-1/2 ft up, or the height of the equipment, whichever is higher (height of working space/headroom).

Then there’s the dedicated space about the equipment. (Indoors) The space equal to the width and depth of the equipment, extending from the floor to 6 ft above the equip, or the structural ceiling, whichever is lower. I’m guessing the roof of your shed is the height involved here. No equipment foreign (pipes, duct, etc.) to the electrical equip can be located in this zone. The area above this zone can have foreign equip provided protection is installed to avoid damage to the elect equip.

Clear as mud right?

So, if you can mount the panel so the pipe enters the left lower corner (panel extends to the right) you’ll probably get the clearance, if you can rotate the hydro head. Another thought…mount the backer board so it spans from the stud to the left of the 1” PVC to 2 studs right of that (the board will span 2 bays). Then you can mount the panel slightly to the right, and gain some more clearance. Might also consider cutting the pipe a little closer to the ground (not too much though). Either way, you’ll want to get to the wall soon, so you can get it clamped…probably another minerallac. Technically, no more than 3 ft between supports/clamps for 1” PVC, measured as following the conduit. The floor is considered support.

More mud, right??

Advertisement

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should

Last edited by SD515; 07-02-2011 at 09:40 AM.
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SD515 For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (07-02-2011)
Old 07-02-2011, 01:34 AM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

subpanel vs. water supply


SD515 have right idea and let me add other item it may help you on this one is get 6X6X4 junction box { don't bother to use 4X4X2 1/8 box for this one due the conduit size } and run a short peice then go up with 90° ell sweep up to the subpanel that is one of few option you can do that.

I just hope you have good ULFER { useing rebar for grounding purpose } otherwise you will have to sink two rods that is the only two legit options you can do that for subpanel set up and just make sure you keep the netural and ground seprated { there are some case you will have to buy a ground bussbar for it and they are only few Euros ( dollars ) }

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (07-02-2011)
Old 07-02-2011, 03:03 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,302
Rewards Points: 1,038
Question

subpanel vs. water supply


well, i was gonna set a 6x6x4 JB some 12" above the hydrant (which will have a threaded copper fitting mounted on the mouth and then copper pipe running out so there won't be open flow anywhere near) and then the subpanel mounted another 2-3 ft above the JB.

does that make me compliant?
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 09:33 AM   #5
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

subpanel vs. water supply


The hydro pipe can’t be within the dedicated space of the equipment, which is why I suggested the panel extend to the right. For width, the dedicated space begins at the edge of the equipment. Remember, clearances and dedicated space are different, but both need to be maintained, and incorparate the 3 dimensions (height, depth, width).

This picture should help….
Attached Images
 
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 09:36 AM   #6
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

subpanel vs. water supply


And here's pictures of working space for height and width...
Attached Images
   
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 09:58 AM   #7
Member
 
Knucklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 873
Rewards Points: 528
Default

subpanel vs. water supply


crap.. i have a full sink, plumbing, drain pipe and valves right below my panel! and it's not one of those flimsy plastic sinks, its old school concrete double deep laundry sink. it's been like that for probably 30yrs. when i refinish the basement i'll relocate the plumbing (easier than re-locating panel).

Knucklez
__________________
"if you can't be handsome, at least you can be handy" -Redgreen
Knucklez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 09:31 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,302
Rewards Points: 1,038
Question

subpanel vs. water supply


does this mean i can't even have a power switch and a security alarm panel right below my subpanel (maybe 6 in below) ?
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 09:44 PM   #9
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

subpanel vs. water supply


In the dedicated electrical space? Yes you can. That space is dedicated to electrical equipment. Technically, they can’t stick out away from the wall more than 6” into the working space, but I highly doubt they would.

Advertisement

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SD515 For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (07-06-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water heater drip kdange1 Plumbing 6 10-29-2014 06:26 PM
Water supply line blackhemi Plumbing 4 04-09-2011 09:18 PM
My hot water recirculation system is a disaster Michael Neill Plumbing 9 11-05-2010 12:31 PM
water supply layout wglord Plumbing 1 07-13-2009 01:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts