Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-16-2007, 01:04 PM   #1
Handyguy
 
Brik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 803
Send a message via Skype™ to Brik
Share |
Default

subpanel question


Easy question I think. I plan to install a subpanel in my attached garage. My question is about configuration of the panel itself.

Ideally I would like to use a Cutler Hammer CF style panel so breakers are interchangeable with my main. The subpanel does not need a 'main' breaker, of course. What I would like is a main disconnect at the subpanel. A way to turn off the garage/workshop and maybe lock off.

Is there a way to do this with one box? I know I can use a disconnect switch that is in a separate box. Does Cutler Hammer make a CF subpanel with a lockable main disconnect? That would be ideal.


Thanks
Brik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 09:24 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Black Hills of SD
Posts: 8
Default

subpanel question


There are locking devices available to lock out a breaker, you can also buy your sub with a lockable door. go to your local electrical supply house they will fix you up.
work union live better.
megawatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 05:31 AM   #3
elect, contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: niagara ontario
Posts: 44
Default

subpanel question


If you want a means to shut of the entire panel then just get one with a main breaker, a main breaker can be used as a disconnecting means wether it is sized for the subservice or larger (your over current protection is in the house panel) to lock it out or lock it inthe off position as the previous post said you can get (order) a panel with a lockable door (though I have not seen that in a residential configuration) I know cutler makes a residential panel with a door I imagine you could install a hasp and padlock it if nessisary, or you can install a locking device on the main, you could infact fabricate your own usinf 2 peices of angle on each side of the main with apropriately placed holes and a long shakle lock, or a hasp set up to close accross the main when in the off possition and padlock it.
ACB Electric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
Reverse Polarity at the Subpanel adm060306 Electrical 14 07-09-2007 12:58 PM
Subpanel over Water JPsAlias Electrical 13 06-05-2007 10:16 PM
Can i add a subpanel fed by 10/2 wire? qst4sno Electrical 25 04-25-2007 05:14 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.