Subpanel Question ? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2013, 11:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 137
Default

Subpanel Question ?


Hello - I'm adding an 80 AMP sub-panel in my basement and curious as to which manufacturer is the best. I've been advised to use Square D panel and breakers. Does anyone have a preference and/or suggestions? I'm more much more concerned with quality as opposed to price. Thank you.

Advertisement

Jim Ignatowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 01:13 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 181
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Subpanel Question ?


Eaton is what I have always used. Siemens is also good too

Advertisement

romex1220 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to romex1220 For This Useful Post:
Handyworker (11-10-2013)
Old 11-02-2013, 08:13 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,381
Rewards Points: 3,556
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Subpanel Question ?


I would use the same as the current main panel.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
Know A Little (11-02-2013)
Old 11-02-2013, 08:53 AM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Subpanel Question ?


People are going to give you all sorts of answers, but I haven't had any problems with any panels or breakers. Now, if you are installing AFCI breakers I would find out which seem to be less problematic and go with that brand panel.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (11-02-2013)
Old 11-10-2013, 12:28 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 137
Default

Subpanel Question ?


I've been doing some reading on other forums and I noticed a lot of electricians are recommending Square-D boxes. I think that's the route I'm going. Appreciate the replies.
Jim Ignatowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 12:32 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Central Arkansas
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Subpanel Question ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by romex1220 View Post
Eaton is what I have always used. Siemens is also good too
The guys at home depot recommended Eaton panels to me just because they said there more compatible with most breakers than the other brands they carried.
Handyworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 12:52 AM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,047
Rewards Points: 2,892
Default

Subpanel Question ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Handyworker View Post
The guys at home depot recommended Eaton panels to me just because they said there more compatible with most breakers than the other brands they carried.
Once again the help is giving out poor information. The other brands may fit but that does not mean they can be used in the panel.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
jbfan (11-10-2013), Oso954 (11-10-2013)
Old 11-10-2013, 02:01 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Subpanel Question ?


you could ask 6 electricians and get 6 different answers....it is really a ford/ chevy thing...and you can mix or match to your main.....I install sq' d and CH all the time and sq d homeline as well....seimans have copper buss's and are high end so is a sq'd QO....FWIW
Bobka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 07:03 AM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Subpanel Question ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobka View Post
you could ask 6 electricians and get 6 different answers....it is really a ford/ chevy thing...and you can mix or match to your main.....I install sq' d and CH all the time and sq d homeline as well....seimans have copper buss's and are high end so is a sq'd QO....FWIW

siemens panels are both ways cooper and alum. //FYI
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Philly Master For This Useful Post:
TomMass (11-13-2013)
Old 11-10-2013, 05:00 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Subpanel Question ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
siemens panels are both ways cooper and alum. //FYI
yep.......for a one timer the install will be a little more of a challenge the selection.....to the op please note there is a certain way a sub panel needs to be wired....note your neutral and ground connections..
Bobka is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bobka For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (11-14-2013)
Old 11-10-2013, 06:24 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Subpanel Question ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
I would use the same as the current main panel.
__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 04:12 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Subpanel Question ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobka View Post
you could ask 6 electricians and get 6 different answers....it is really a ford/ chevy thing...and you can mix or match to your main.....I install sq' d and CH all the time and sq d homeline as well....seimans have copper buss's and are high end so is a sq'd QO....FWIW
+1

Sq D is nice because the breakers are made to take two wires.
TomMass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 10:58 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Subpanel Question ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TomMass View Post
+1

Sq D is nice because the breakers are made to take two wires.
be careful, not all of them can do this. you need to look at the stamping on the breaker to see if it is listed for two conductors on one pole.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 10:00 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 181
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Subpanel Question ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TomMass

+1

Sq D is nice because the breakers are made to take two wires.
It had to be listed as a double tap breaker. If you look closely at the screws you should see two little groves in the clamp if its a double tap.
romex1220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 10:19 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Detroit MI
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Subpanel Question ?


I like Sq D. That's what sparkys put in all the new construction we do. I also have a sq D panel in my house and its easy to find breakers around here for sq D panels than other panels

Advertisement

framer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breakers , panel , square d , subpanel


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subpanel question gerG Electrical 2 07-09-2012 11:44 AM
Yet another subpanel question md2lgyk Electrical 30 07-28-2011 09:19 AM
Yet another subpanel wiring question Chris_M Electrical 6 06-10-2010 06:12 PM
subpanel question Brik Electrical 2 11-30-2008 06:31 AM
Another subpanel question:) primal65 Electrical 15 06-22-2008 10:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts