Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-23-2007, 11:16 PM   #1

Share |

Subpanel over Water

I'm installing a subpanel on the end of a pier to power a 1 hp 240 volt motor and some 120 volt lighting. (Over water)

I plan to bring the power in PVC conduit from my main home (240 feet away) off a 2 pole 50 amp ground fault breaker.

I'll only have two 15 amp breakers in the subpanel (2 pole for the 240 and 1 pole for the lights) My problem is that I only have three #6 aluminum wires feeding the subpanel. (Hot - Hot - Neutral)

My question is can I safely do this with the 3 wires?

And how should I run the neutral? From the main bus in the subpanel to the main bus in my house or to the neutral lug on my ground fault breaker?

JPsAlias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 12:55 AM   #2
Long-Time DIYer

Subpanel over Water

I am not a pro electrician, but I believe that you need to run 3-wire+ground out there (two hots, a neutral and a ground) for what you're trying to do. You can't also have the 120v with just two hots and a ground, which are fine for just the 240v motor. (The lift needs to be GFCI, and the control line probably comes with it.)