Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2011, 11:47 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Salt Lake City,Utah
Posts: 55
Rewards Points: 75
Default

SubPanel Installation Question


New poster here, thanks for all of you at this site. From what I've seen so far, you all are wonderful.

I have a quick question on sub panel installation. I have an existing 125 amp main panel that feeds from a main breaker located outside. I am going to install a 60 amp subpanel that has main lugs (no main breaker). I just want to make sure I size the breaker (disconnect) that I put in my existing panel properly and the wire size is correct.

My plan is to put a 50 amp 220 breaker to feed the sub on #6 cable.

If I'm off base, or if anyone has better ideas, I would appreciate the help.

lowvolter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 12:05 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,921
Rewards Points: 2,238
Default

SubPanel Installation Question


Yes, 50 amp breaker on # 6 is ok.
Are the panels in the same building?

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 12:18 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Salt Lake City,Utah
Posts: 55
Rewards Points: 75
Default

SubPanel Installation Question


Yep...they will actually be sitting right next to each other in my basement. The builder didn't put in a very big panel to begin with.

So I would put in #6 hot, #6 hot, #6 neutral and would I need a #6 ground?
lowvolter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 12:30 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,921
Rewards Points: 2,238
Default

SubPanel Installation Question


If you are allowed to use romex in you're area, then use 6/3 with a ground to connect the panel.
Make sure you have the neutral and ground seperate in the sub.

If you are using individual wires, then a #10 is all that is needed.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 12:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Salt Lake City,Utah
Posts: 55
Rewards Points: 75
Default

SubPanel Installation Question


Awesome...We are able to use Romex here so I will go that route. Thanks a ton for the response and knowledge!

This site just saved me a TON of money running my second panel to the outside box, which is what I thought my only option was...
lowvolter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 04:54 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 150
Default

SubPanel Installation Question


Do note: The #10 JB refers to is for the ground only! #6 for the conductors.
cgoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 05:12 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Salt Lake City,Utah
Posts: 55
Rewards Points: 75
Default

SubPanel Installation Question


good clarification...I was thinking that, and was watching the other post for a similar situation to make sure. Thanks for clearing that up in my mind.
lowvolter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 07:17 PM   #8
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Rewards Points: 250
Default

SubPanel Installation Question


jbfan mentioned isolating neutral and ground... also remove the bonding screw if it exists. this screw "bonds" the neutral to the ground.
you do not want this in a sub panel

MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yet another subpanel wiring question Chris_M Electrical 6 06-10-2010 06:12 PM
Young Artist with question about LED's for installation SX0T Electrical 16 06-10-2010 03:39 PM
Vinyl siding installation question Branden Building & Construction 2 06-01-2010 01:17 PM
To Subpanel or Not to Subpanel, That is the Question finnimus Electrical 8 03-05-2009 03:32 PM
subpanel question Brik Electrical 2 11-30-2008 06:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.