Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-29-2011, 04:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Subpanel Grounding


I know that if you run a subpanel then the neutral and ground must be separated in the subpanel.

My question is this: If I drive a separate ground rod for the subpanel then can the neutral and ground be bonded in the new subpanel as long as there is NO ground ran back to the main panel from the subpanel?


Thanks, Steve

Sierevello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 04:43 PM   #2
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 359
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Subpanel Grounding


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sierevello View Post
My question is this: If I drive a separate ground rod for the subpanel then can the neutral and ground be bonded in the new subpanel as long as there is NO ground ran back to the main panel from the subpanel?
Nope.

Only exception is if you are installing the sub panel in a detached building, and are on the 2005 or earlier NEC code. Not sure if you are in Canada.

junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 01:02 AM   #3
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Subpanel Grounding


the question is not if you drive a ground rod, in most cases your are required to drive a ground rod in addition.
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 12:08 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,041
Rewards Points: 2,052
Default

Subpanel Grounding


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sierevello View Post
I know that if you run a subpanel then the neutral and ground must be separated in the subpanel.

My question is this: If I drive a separate ground rod for the subpanel then can the neutral and ground be bonded in the new subpanel as long as there is NO ground ran back to the main panel from the subpanel?


Thanks, Steve
As Junk stated if your area (jurisdiction) is under the 2005 or earlier additions and their are no local amendments to the contrary you are allowed to run a 3 wire feeder to a detached garage. You would then be allowed to bond neutral and ground in that subpanel. However you can have no other metallic paths besides the electrical feeder between that garage and the house (containing the service panel) .. where the feeder to the garage originates. This would be, as an example, a metal water line or data/phone cables, if these are in place then a 3 wire feeder is not allowed and you must run a 4 wire feeder. Any detached garage that is powered by a feeder .. meaning there is a sub-panel with circuit breaker(s) in the garage must have a grounding electrode system. So a ground rod(s) is required regardless of whether you have an equipment ground ran back to the service equipment.

If the sub-panel is in an attached garage located in the same dwelling where the service panel is located then there are no exceptions. A 4 wire feeder is your only option with neutral and ground separated in the sub-panel. A ground rod is not needed in this type of installation as the service panel has the grounding electrode system for the home.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grounding requirement for 100A subpanel blakeasaurus Electrical 2 12-08-2010 05:59 PM
Grounding a Subpanel Craigman Electrical 25 12-07-2009 07:25 PM
Adding second grounding bar to subpanel rdy2go Electrical 11 09-13-2009 07:59 PM
Subpanel grounding CAUTIOUSHOMEOWNER Electrical 30 12-02-2008 04:08 PM
Grounding electrode at subpanel Randell Tarin Electrical 18 02-01-2008 09:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.