Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-17-2008, 03:59 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 398
Rewards Points: 256
Default

subpanel feed neutral conductor connection in main panel


what do you do if the neutral conductor on a subpanel feeder cable (awg3) is too large to fit in one of the free openings in the main panel's neutral bus - can you split the strands and run half into 1 of the screw connectors in the bus, and half into the another, or do you need to add a (larger) lug connector - if so, would this lug just clamp onto the existing bus?

thanks
-randy

rtoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 04:28 PM   #2
electrical contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Georgia USA
Posts: 181
Rewards Points: 150
Default

subpanel feed neutral conductor connection in main panel


do NOT split the strands, put in a neutral lug kit.

__________________
Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid.
wire_twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 04:55 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 398
Rewards Points: 256
Default

subpanel feed neutral conductor connection in main panel


thanks Jimmy - will do....
rtoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 05:08 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

subpanel feed neutral conductor connection in main panel


A solderless lug is a must!
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 05:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 398
Rewards Points: 256
Default

subpanel feed neutral conductor connection in main panel


thanks kctermite - it's now on my things-to-pick-up list on the way home tonite

feeling a little less clueless now...
rtoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 05:58 PM
Determining Main Panel Load with Subpanel added Randell Tarin Electrical 2 04-11-2008 02:21 PM
Replace main panel or use subpanel? MasterofNone Electrical 8 02-12-2008 01:24 AM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 06:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.