Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2013, 11:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Subpanel disconnect question


I know that for a detached garage I need to have a disconnect for the power entry. The run from the main panel to the sub panel in the garage is about 50' or so. I'm going to run 2AWG alumn wire in 1 1/4" sch 80 PVC to the garage. I'm installing an 80 amp breaker for the subpanel (Possible future needs have 70 amps as a minimum out there. I've never seen 3AWG, so going with 2AWG I can run 90 amps, and I'm only using an 80 amp breaker to allow for any voltage drop effects)

That all being said, can I use a 100 amp main breaker panel as the disconnect? There is no issue with a larger breaker serving as the disconnect, since the entire feeder system is all protected by the 80 amp breaker?

rubber314chicke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 12:52 AM   #2
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

Subpanel disconnect question


80a breaker at the main panel, #2 awg guessing AL as feeders, underground to detached garage, then 100a MB panel.
Sounds good, couple things to remember

Need to run 4 counductors to the garage, so you can keep the ground and neutrals separate .. (2 feeds, 1 neutral, 1 ground)
At the detached garage, need to drive 2 ground rods, minimum 6' apart

You may have known all this but its worth mentioning

Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gac66610 For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (06-09-2013)
Old 06-09-2013, 12:58 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

Subpanel disconnect question


Yup, 100a as disconnect is fine.

Don't suppose the garage has a ufer to use for the ground?
__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 01:03 AM   #4
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

Subpanel disconnect question


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
Yup, 100a as disconnect is fine.

Don't suppose the garage has a ufer to use for the ground?
that would be nice ... lol
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing central air question about conduit from disconnect to panel angelas111 Electrical 2 05-27-2011 07:37 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
Subpanel question Scott2 Electrical 8 02-16-2010 06:32 AM
subpanel feeder question ssybert Electrical 4 01-28-2010 09:29 AM
subpanel question Brik Electrical 2 11-30-2008 05:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.