Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-24-2012, 02:11 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Share |
Default

Subpanel WITH bonded neutral


Don't know if it helps the discussion, but some folks like visual aids.



Subpanel WITH bonded neutral-electric.jpg

jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 04:32 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

Subpanel WITH bonded neutral


And who has the authority to determine the location of the meter? The POCO (rural electric cooperative) or the homeowner?

Last edited by jlmran; 01-24-2012 at 04:38 PM.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 05:11 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,864
Default

Subpanel WITH bonded neutral


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
What would be protected by a post-juxtasposition OCPD, which would not be protected by a mid-span or pre-juxtasposition OCPD?:
The building panel and electrical system.

Some kinds of failures in the conduit shared by the service wires and the "customer wires" can put the OCPD (below the meter) out of the picture.

As in:
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
... nothing can share a raceway with service entrance conductors. If you've ever seen them on fire, you'd understand why - that disconnect will do nothing!
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 05:20 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,864
Default

Subpanel WITH bonded neutral


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
What would be protected by a post-juxtasposition OCPD, which would not be protected by a mid-span or pre-juxtasposition OCPD?:
The building panel and electrical system.

Some kinds of failures in the conduit shared by the service wires and the "customer wires" can put the OCPD (below the meter) out of the picture.

As in:
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
... nothing can share a raceway with service entrance conductors. If you've ever seen them on fire, you'd understand why - that disconnect will do nothing!
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
How is this interpreted? Is the DC required to be physically attached to the structure?

In this example, the DC on the pole is located quite literally the same distance as the panel attached to the structure, from the nearest entry/exit to the structure...if that is even a consideration.

Meaning, when one exits this structure, one can either walk one direction towards the pole (and DC) or walk another direction towards the panel. Both courses of travel are the same length.
(Whimsically) Let's imagine the situation compared to a main panel in one building and a subpanel in an outbuilding.

Here the pole with the meter is the main building and the main panel is the disconnect under the meter. An outbuilding, here, the house, needs a master disconnect for its electrical feed.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 01-24-2012 at 05:24 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 07:04 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

Subpanel WITH bonded neutral


So if I want the OVERHEAD service from the meter pole to the house to remain, my options are:

1. Have an additional conduit installed on the pole, to house the service conductors after the meter. This will separate the POCO lines from the customer's lines. This will require the installation of a "main disconnect" in the panel.

Or

2. Have the meter moved to the house, which also will require the installation of a "main disconnect" in the panel.

Are there any other viable options?
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 07:25 PM   #21
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,652
Default

Subpanel WITH bonded neutral


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
So if I want the OVERHEAD service from the meter pole to the house to remain, my options are:
Damned few.
Keep the meter and manual disconnect in place...

From the load side of that disconnect run your new conduit up the pole to a new weather head over to the house where you install either a proper 3R service entrance with main breaker (more options i the future).

From that new gear, you can feed through to the NEW house panel (
which I assume also needs updating).
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 07:39 PM   #22
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Subpanel WITH bonded neutral


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
And who has the authority to determine the location of the meter? The POCO (rural electric cooperative) or the homeowner?
The POCO will determed the meter location and homeowner don't have much say in there due the POCO have well written reguations so you will have to talk to the POCO about the meter location and will ask you for clearance if this is a pole topper ( farm system ) arrangement most farm I have deal from time to time they are dropping out for safety reason.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 07:40 PM   #23
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Subpanel WITH bonded neutral


If you run from meter pole to house you will have to use 4 conductors make sure proper grounding at the meter pole and separate the ground and neutral in the house panel with a disconnect or new panel with main breaker. But it would probably be cheaper to install a new service on the house as long as it's not a mobile home.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:11 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Subpanel WITH bonded neutral


I need to replace the entire well pump electrical system as lightning fried everything. I replaced all the components and rewired everything up to the sub panel with a 10-2G with a maximum load of 28 amps. However, my problem is that the line feed coming into the subpanel is underground more than 200 feet away and the meter indicates 240 volts coming in. However I still need to try and add a 110 volt circuit to have a switch for a light and outlet for the sprinkler system to be plugged in. I think I have the wrong sub panel as it is the black plastic GE with 4 circuits as it does not look like I can adapt anything. I wired the outlet and light just like normal, the outlet indicates a open neutral and the light bulb blew. What the heck is wrong, am I missing something? PLEASE HELP!
furnray65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:15 PM   #25
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Subpanel WITH bonded neutral


Quote:
Originally Posted by furnray65 View Post
I need to replace the entire well pump electrical system as lightning fried everything. I replaced all the components and rewired everything up to the sub panel with a 10-2G with a maximum load of 28 amps. However, my problem is that the line feed coming into the subpanel is underground more than 200 feet away and the meter indicates 240 volts coming in. However I still need to try and add a 110 volt circuit to have a switch for a light and outlet for the sprinkler system to be plugged in. I think I have the wrong sub panel as it is the black plastic GE with 4 circuits as it does not look like I can adapt anything. I wired the outlet and light just like normal, the outlet indicates a open neutral and the light bulb blew. What the heck is wrong, am I missing something? PLEASE HELP!
First of all you should start a new thread on this one so it will not confuse the OP part.

Now you did open a new can of worm 200 feet with 10-2W/G with 28 amp load that is too much for that distance you should use #8 for this one second thing you do not have netural in there so that why the light bulb blew up quick due you have no 120 volts there.

And Jamias use the bare ground conductor for netural that is major no-no for this one.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:17 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

Subpanel WITH bonded neutral


Jamais means "never"?
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:18 PM   #27
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Subpanel WITH bonded neutral


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
Jamais means "never"?
Oui ya got it.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:24 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 944
Default

Subpanel WITH bonded neutral


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
Jamais means "never"?
Mystery word solved....thanks!

I thought he was telling me that only a guy named Jamais could pull my meter.


Last edited by zappa; 01-24-2012 at 09:26 PM.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bonded Ground & Neutral in 240v subpanel RST Electrical 22 11-04-2011 01:18 PM
Bond subpanel Neutral directly to SE neutral using split bolt? Sierevello Electrical 1 01-30-2011 08:08 PM
Sharing Neutrals on the same phase electro Electrical 30 08-12-2010 02:10 PM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 04:58 PM
Nuetral from feeder cable to main panel question? TW Lucas Electrical 14 05-08-2008 11:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.