Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-14-2012, 08:00 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,968
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Subpanel Beginner Questions


Choice of:

1. Remove the black bar connecting the two ground/neutral bus bars. Use the bus bar without the screw or strap or jumper to the panel body for the neutrals. Use the bus bar with the screw, etc. to the panel body for the ground wires (equipment grounding conductors).

2. Leave the black bar in place and use both existing bus bars for neutrals. Remove the screw or strap etc. connecting either to the panel body. Install another bus bar (sold separately) directly on the panel back with good bare metal to bare metal contact for ground wires. This method would be used if you don't have enough holes in the bus for neutrals since each neutral must have its own hole and set screw. Two ground wires of the same size can share a hole but should not criss cross under the set screw (so one can't slip out, or get excessively nicked and fracture later).

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 12-14-2012 at 08:12 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
rjniles (12-14-2012)
Old 12-21-2012, 02:42 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 101
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Subpanel Beginner Questions


Ok I finshed the wiring within the sub panel. I didn't hook up to the main panel yet and plan to run metal conduit for 5" into the main panel above the sub panel...really is a sub panel

Tell me how it looks









Lowes didn't have white 6gauge THHN

LarryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 02:50 PM   #18
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,817
Rewards Points: 2,432
Default

Subpanel Beginner Questions


Well you are missing the conduit that the feeders should be run in. Also the green to the neutral bus is the wrong color.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 04:30 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 101
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Subpanel Beginner Questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Well you are missing the conduit that the feeders should be run in. Also the green to the neutral bus is the wrong color.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryM View Post
Ok I finshed the wiring within the sub panel. I didn't hook up to the main panel yet and plan to run metal conduit for 5" into the main panel above the sub panel...really is a sub panel

Lowes didn't have white 6gauge THHN
Am I going to fail inspection because of the green instead of white? Lowes didn't have the white so I figured green would suffice. Also I have to get the metal conduit still so I didn't hook up to the main panel

Anything else?
LarryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 05:33 PM   #20
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,166
Rewards Points: 2,242
Default

Subpanel Beginner Questions


Yes you will fail with a green neutral. And you need to get the conduit installed.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 05:45 PM   #21
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Subpanel Beginner Questions


Are these new circuits that require AFCI protection?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.



Last edited by k_buz; 12-21-2012 at 05:48 PM.
k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 05:52 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 101
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Subpanel Beginner Questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Are these new circuits that require AFCI protection?
I spoke to the electrical inspector regarding the AFCI circuits and he said these were fine...A sigh of relief on my part

Last edited by LarryM; 12-21-2012 at 06:38 PM.
LarryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 05:53 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 101
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Subpanel Beginner Questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Yes you will fail with a green neutral. And you need to get the conduit installed.
Jerks at Lowes, I should have known not to trust them...Guess I'll make a trip to HD tomorrow and get the correct wire.

Also I get the conduit from them since Lowes didn't have what I was looking for
LarryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 05:59 PM   #24
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Subpanel Beginner Questions


Other than what has been brought to your attention,

A very neat/clean panel

With the neutral, or lack of white, you could have run another black and used white electrical tape re-identify it as the neutral.
You can not use the white tape to re-identify the green to neutral.
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 06:24 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 101
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Subpanel Beginner Questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gac66610 View Post
Other than what has been brought to your attention,

A very neat/clean panel

With the neutral, or lack of white, you could have run another black and used white electrical tape re-identify it as the neutral.
You can not use the white tape to re-identify the green to neutral.
Thank you :-)

Curious, what are green wires for? I have never seen it before
LarryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 06:27 PM   #26
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Subpanel Beginner Questions


GFI is not the same thing as AFCI.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 06:37 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 101
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Subpanel Beginner Questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
GFI is not the same thing as AFCI.
Sorry that is what I meant... Crazy expensive for those circuits so I was glad to save about $250
LarryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 07:21 PM   #28
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 81
Default

Subpanel Beginner Questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryM View Post
Thank you :-)

Curious, what are green wires for? I have never seen it before
Ground
diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 07:26 PM   #29
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,817
Rewards Points: 2,432
Default

Subpanel Beginner Questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gac66610 View Post
With the neutral, or lack of white, you could have run another black and used white electrical tape re-identify it as the neutral.
The conductor would need to be a #4 or larger before it can be re-identified.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Gac66610 (12-21-2012)
Old 12-21-2012, 09:29 PM   #30
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Subpanel Beginner Questions


You're right, 200.6 says #6 and smaller shall have a continuous white or gray outer finish, or by three continuous white stripes on other than green insulation along its entire length.
Should have looked it up.

Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pool subpanel questions Simbilis Electrical 3 04-23-2011 07:44 PM
Subpanel Wire Questions mykayel Electrical 2 04-02-2011 02:35 AM
Adding a subpanel to a sub-panel and other questions CardinalPilot Electrical 14 03-30-2011 03:23 PM
Help please - Upgrading subpanel! wtfh4xx Electrical 24 02-01-2010 06:55 PM
Subpanel installation in outbuilding fls Electrical 19 03-16-2008 03:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.