Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-15-2012, 03:31 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 6
Share |

Subpanel

Hello to all. My main service panel in a bedroom is almost filled. I would like to put a new subpanel in my utility room. The first thing I will wire from the new sub panel is a 220 dryer outlet. What size circuit breaker in the main panel and what size cable do I need to wire the subpanel? Please feel free to give me any other tips as I have never done a subpanel before. I am used to Square D, but the main panel is a Cutler Hammer. Do I have to stay with that? Which is best?

Thanks to all who help.

crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 05:51 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor

Rewards Points: 18

Subpanel

What else do you intend to wire to the subpanel?
You need to figure everything you want to add, then figure the size of the panel.
A 60 amp, with 6/3 w/g might suit you, or you may have to go larger.

As far as Square D, or CH, ford or chevy?

Old 10-16-2012, 11:55 AM   #3

Subpanel

Now there are a few things in the main panel that should be changed. For example the bathroom should be on its own circuit, but now it shares other lights and outlets. Just give me a rough idea of what I should do to include the dryer and a few other modifications. I will not be rewiring the whole house, but I want to be able to add things later if needed. There is no where to go with the current box.
Old 10-16-2012, 02:17 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor

Rewards Points: 18

Subpanel

A 60 amp, with 6/3 w/g might suit you,
Old 10-16-2012, 04:43 PM   #5
"So I Re-Wired It"

Rewards Points: 0

Subpanel

Quote:
Originally Posted by crescere View Post