Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-18-2012, 08:32 PM   #16
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,128
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by cyras21 View Post
My neighbors cousin is an apprentice and he had a load meter or something that measured the draw (i think that's what he called it) at the box.

Each circuit was drawing 18A - 19A.

They don't cost me too much. The lights are only on from 5pm to 10pm, but there is an obvious increase in my consumption for the month.
At 80 amps, at 5 hours for a month would add over 120 bucks to your electric bill...

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 08:37 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

subpanel


What's not legal, the boxes?

If so, how would I make it legal or is an actual subpanel a better idea?
cyras21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 08:39 PM   #18
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

subpanel


A permitted sub panel, permanently installed and inspected.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 08:43 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
At 80 amps, at 5 hours for a month would add over 120 bucks to your electric bill...
uh... I'm paying a lil more then that I think. I'm on the budget plan meaning I pay the average of the year previously and I'm paying around $200 a month.
cyras21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 08:53 PM   #20
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,128
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by cyras21 View Post
uh... I'm paying a lil more then that I think. I'm on the budget plan meaning I pay the average of the year previously and I'm paying around $200 a month.
I do the same, i was just saying what it would cost, not saying you weren't... its very possible you are.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 11:39 PM   #21
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,681
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by cyras21 View Post
The box is basically a subpanel but not permanent. It contains individual circuits for each receptacle.

These are the type of boxes I was looking at.

http://www.dxsoundco.com/#Lighting_Controllers
Whoa!! I can't even begin to list the safety hazards with this.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 04:42 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

subpanel


I'm sorry but I'm pretty ignorant when it comes to electrical work.

Would one of you mind explaining what is wrong with using one of these boxes as a temp subpanel?
cyras21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 04:44 PM   #23
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,128
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by cyras21 View Post
I'm sorry but I'm pretty ignorant when it comes to electrical work.

Would one of you mind explaining what is wrong with using one of these boxes as a temp subpanel?
Flexible cord supplying a subpanel, 120 volt receptacles fed via 240volts... Who knows what other violations they did under the cover....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 05:26 PM   #24
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

subpanel


I've seen similar boxes to this used many times but there's never breakers in them. Usually they're standalone units that have internal fuses for the different receptacles. The unit itself will have an amperage rating so it's more like a piece of equipment than a service box. Of course they also have the right receptacles installed too
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 05:32 PM   #25
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,128
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

subpanel


I'm curious how many appliances get toasted with the 240v supply on the 120v receptacles? Lol...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 06:00 PM   #26
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,039
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

subpanel


You see similiar, though code compliant, distribution panels in stage and sound lighting. At a boxing match I saw a 200 amp square d load center that was converted to cam lock to supply temporary lighting hung above the ring. They had the thing mounted on a 2 wheel dolly.....
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 06:03 PM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

subpanel


Here's what I was imagining, may or may not be different from the above box.

A 220 outlet installed with a breaker between it and the main line with the box plugged into the outlet. The box would contain breakers for each receptacle.

Is it that cord, from the box to the outlet that isn't safe? Is there another way to "hook" this up to be temporary that is safer?

The only reason I'm looking for it to be temporary is because there is a chance of moving in the next year or so. I guess I could always install the subpanel and convey my christmas decorations.
cyras21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 06:34 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

subpanel


This is kind of what I was thinking...

cyras21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 08:05 PM   #29
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,681
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by cyras21
This is kind of what I was thinking...
The two on the right look like Light-a-Rama. I know for a fact they use 30a feeds.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 08:32 PM   #30
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,128
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
The two on the right look like Light-a-Rama. I know for a fact they use 30a feeds.
All this stuff you find online is bull**** and non- code compliant...

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subpanel Grounding buchman Electrical 7 06-24-2012 12:44 PM
Several Questions...leading to Garage Subpanel willstutely Electrical 5 01-03-2012 01:38 PM
Subpanel Right Below Main dcapone Electrical 6 01-02-2012 04:46 PM
Problems with Square D Subpanel bltglt507 Electrical 16 12-04-2009 08:44 PM
A few slightly different questions on subpanel wiring. Chris Dopp Electrical 8 06-26-2009 09:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.