Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2008, 09:11 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Submeter


Hi, I have a question, I ran a sub panel into my dadís garage, using 6/3, I did isolate the ground bus from the neutral bus in the sub. I put a 60 amp breaker in the main panel and a 50 amp main in the sub panel (this way Iím hoping if it trips I wonít have to run to the basement). My question is, I want to put a sub meter to monitor the power usage in the garage, Iíll be using it as a small shop and want to pay for the electric I use. I went to the local electric supply store and they want $500 for a sub meter, they told me I can put in a metersocket and a meter for under $200. So if I put the meter socket in line with the 6/3 before the sub panel (I assume itís just like a service entrance would be) will it work properly? Thanks, Anthony

anthony1159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 09:24 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,195
Default

Submeter


I think someone in an earlier thread said that you can get watthour meters on Ebay for cheap.
I'm not qualified to tell you how to install the meter, so I'll leave that to a real electrician!

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 12:30 PM   #3
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

Submeter


Also this was suggested:

http://www.theenergydetective.com/st...s/ted1000.html

A full outdoors meter box is probably overkill. Look at this TED or a landlord submeter rated for indoor use.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 02:15 PM   #4
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,030
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Submeter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
Also this was suggested:

http://www.theenergydetective.com/st...s/ted1000.html

A full outdoors meter box is probably overkill. Look at this TED or a landlord submeter rated for indoor use.
I second that, this is the same product I would have suggested.
Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 06:32 PM   #5
DIY
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 162
Default

Submeter


Quote:
Originally Posted by KE2KB View Post
I think someone in an earlier thread said that you can get watthour meters on Ebay for cheap.
That would be me.

http://shop.ebay.com/items/?_nkw=uti...r20w&_osacat=0

Definitely the most cost effective way to go IMO, but of course you cannot do any automatic data logging.
gp_wa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 11:15 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 995
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Submeter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
Also this was suggested:

http://www.theenergydetective.com/st...s/ted1000.html

A full outdoors meter box is probably overkill. Look at this TED or a landlord submeter rated for indoor use.
I can personally say as a current user of this product that I would highly recommend it for your situation! It can be installed on either end of the main cable feeding the garage space and does not need a computer to be connected to just calculate the total power consumed in a month. It allows you to enter the utility rates and it shows you real time cost and estimates the current months projected kWh usage and total cost. The computer allows you to do real-time data logging, this only works if the computer is connected and on all the time. If you have any questions about the TED Energy Detective just ask, I'd be more than happy to provide you with any additional information on it.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 07:03 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Submeter


Thanks Guys, I think this is exactly what I need at a decent price. Anthony
anthony1159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 03:39 AM   #8
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

Submeter


Heh, that TED manufacture should start giving us a commission at this rate. :P

Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.