Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-22-2012, 05:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Submersible well pump


Hi I'm pretty handy around the house (Have to be), now my well pump (franklin electric submersible 3 wire 230 volt) has quit. I have the motor control open, the fuses are good the pressure switch is powered. Now there are 5 contacts across the control box and I do not know what voltage I should see across each. My ohm meter was built in the USA ARMACO and is analog. I prefer to check the motor by voltage readings.
I am getting 150V between contacts 1 and two no other voltage

jiminny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 05:32 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,093
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Submersible well pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by jiminny View Post
Hi I'm pretty handy around the house (Have to be), now my well pump (franklin electric submersible 3 wire 230 volt) has quit. I have the motor control open, the fuses are good the pressure switch is powered. Now there are 5 contacts across the control box and I do not know what voltage I should see across each. My ohm meter was built in the USA ARMACO and is analog. I prefer to check the motor by voltage readings.
I am getting 150V between contacts 1 and two no other voltage
If you look at the back of the control box cover, there should be a label that will tell you the correct ohm readings you should be getting to help you troubleshoot this.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 05:40 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Submersible well pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by jiminny View Post
Hi I'm pretty handy around the house (Have to be), now my well pump (franklin electric submersible 3 wire 230 volt) has quit. I have the motor control open, the fuses are good the pressure switch is powered. Now there are 5 contacts across the control box and I do not know what voltage I should see across each. My ohm meter was built in the USA ARMACO and is analog. I prefer to check the motor by voltage readings.
I am getting 150V between contacts 1 and two no other voltage
First of all Stickboy have right answer and also let me add this along the way KILL or remove the power source before you do anything on FE pump controls.

And do you know what size pump motour it is ? due I have three differnt diagram to use so that will affect the whole thing due they are not the same.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 04:34 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Submersible well pump


Hi Marc, It is a 1/2 hp 230 volt 3 wire. Since I posted, I went to my sons place for a shower, came back, tried the faucet and low and behold!! water. Beautiful wet water. Obviously my well was dry, we are in a prolonged drought here as is everyone, will have to conserve until we get rain. Thanks for the warning and the response, Cheers.... Jim
jiminny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 04:36 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,093
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Submersible well pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by jiminny View Post
Hi Marc, It is a 1/2 hp 230 volt 3 wire. Since I posted, I went to my sons place for a shower, came back, tried the faucet and low and behold!! water. Beautiful wet water. Obviously my well was dry, we are in a prolonged drought here as is everyone, will have to conserve until we get rain. Thanks for the warning and the response, Cheers.... Jim
You may want to invest in a pump tech to prevent your pump from running dry.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (07-24-2012)
Old 07-24-2012, 12:21 AM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Submersible well pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
You may want to invest in a pump tech to prevent your pump from running dry.
The other option which I do install from time to time is low pressure cut off switch so when the water pressure get too low it will shut the pump off they act little differnt than a conventail pressure switch as you are used to it there is a addtional spring or diagram which it will trip if under 20 PSIG IIRC.

To get it back on line you will have to manually hold the cut off switch until you get over 20 PSIG or whatever the cut off pressure point is then it will run like normal pump.

Not all place will sell the pressure switch avce low pressure cutoff feature in there. ( well compaines will have this useally in stock and some plumming supply will have this as well )

On my well I did have low pressure cutoff switch but it is set for 18-22 PSIG range so if the water level get too low or the well screen ( at the bottom of the well ) get clogged that will shut the pump off before it will destory the pump.

It did actually happend few time when the LPCO ( low pressure cut out ) tripped when the screen clogged and replace it and it did slove the issue.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:24 AM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,093
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Submersible well pump


Interesing...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:30 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Submersible well pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Interesing...
Oui c'est.,,


Voila pour le link .,

http://store.thepumpwarehouse.com/pr...-Switch/Detail

Ici le side photo of what it look like.,



Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 07:52 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Submersible well pump


Thanks again, I installed the Auto version last time my pump acted up.(actually there were to small leaks in the waterline and a defective external check valve which did burn out the pressure switch.) Probably saved my pump this time. I will make sure it is set on auto. Merci Boucoup, Mon Amie!

jiminny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Submersible pump wiring? Master Brian Electrical 15 05-08-2012 11:20 AM
Submersible well pump pressure tank? kyle79 Plumbing 2 04-10-2012 04:44 PM
Intermittent submersible pump fault esquilax Electrical 5 09-30-2011 03:56 AM
submersible well pump . first start. ryanh Plumbing 11 07-12-2010 09:26 AM
Low Well Pressure, Submersible Well Pump, Help Please! tpolk Plumbing 7 11-13-2009 06:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.