Sub Panel Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2012, 08:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Sub panel wiring


Can I use 2-2-2-4 mobile home feeder to wire a 100amp subpanel in my new garage 300 ft from my house

Advertisement

hardgear69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 09:00 PM   #2
Member
 
deverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 145
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Sub panel wiring


Depending on the load you plan on using you might have to upsize the wire to account for voltage drop.
You should be alright up to 60 amps with copper wire.

Advertisement


Last edited by deverson; 09-16-2012 at 11:05 PM.
deverson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 09:01 PM   #3
Member
 
deverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 145
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Sub panel wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by deverson
Depending on the load you plan on using you might have to upsize the wire to account for voltage drop.
You should be alright up to 609 amps with copper wire.
Don't forget the 2 ground rods at the subpanel
deverson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 09:28 PM   #4
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Sub panel wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by deverson View Post
Depending on the load you plan on using you might have to upsize the wire to account for voltage drop.
You should be alright up to 609 amps with copper wire.
Did I miss something .... 609Amps?
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 09:32 PM   #5
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Sub panel wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by deverson View Post
Depending on the load you plan on using you might have to upsize the wire to account for voltage drop.
You should be alright up to 609 amps with copper wire.

ding ding ding.....we have a winner.....NOT!
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 09:38 PM   #6
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Sub panel wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by deverson View Post
Don't forget the 2 ground rods at the subpanel
Two ground rods?
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 09:41 PM   #7
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Sub panel wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by hardgear69 View Post
Can I use 2-2-2-4 mobile home feeder to wire a 100amp subpanel in my new garage 300 ft from my house
You probably will not use the full 100 amps.
Do you know what the loads will be in the garage?

IF you want the full 100 amps you would need to run 4/0 AL or 2/0 CU.
IF you know the loads the wire can be sized for it.


EDIT: that will meet the voltage drop 'recommended' by the NEC.
There is nothing saying that this is required, check local building codes

Last edited by Gac66610; 09-16-2012 at 09:45 PM.
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 10:24 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Sub panel wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by hardgear69 View Post
Can I use 2-2-2-4 mobile home feeder to wire a 100amp subpanel in my new garage 300 ft from my house
The short answer is NO!

#2 mobile home feeder is not rated for 100 Amps under the circumstances you have outlined. #2 Aluminum wire is only good for 90 Amps in this scenario. It's only approved for a 100 Amp service as the sole feed for a dwelling unit. Since a detached garage does not qualify as a dwelling unit, you are limited to 90 Amps.

You can still use a 100 Amp panel in the garage, but connect the #2 feeder cable to a 90 Amp breaker in your main house to be compliant ..... UNLESS ...

If you want to deal with voltage drop issues, then you will have to increase the wire size relative to your connected load. Once you increased the wire size, then you will be able to use a 100 Amp breaker at the house.

While there are many posts here that calculate voltage drop based on a full 100 Amp load, in real life that is rarely the case.

Have you performed a load calculation on the garage?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 11:07 PM   #9
Member
 
deverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 145
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Sub panel wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound

ding ding ding.....we have a winner.....NOT!
ipad keyboard and fat fingers.!
deverson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 11:09 PM   #10
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Sub panel wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by deverson View Post
ipad keyboard and fat fingers.!
Well...thanks for explaining that. Everyone here is judged by their posts...me and you and everyone else.

Advertisement

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?

Last edited by Missouri Bound; 09-16-2012 at 11:10 PM. Reason: spelling
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Missouri Bound For This Useful Post:
deverson (09-16-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help wiring a panel ex-28 Electrical 17 01-27-2012 03:51 PM
Sub Panel GND and mixed 240/120 VAC branch curiousB Electrical 12 01-17-2012 11:49 AM
wiring sub panel right next to main panel bill423 Electrical 4 05-14-2011 09:17 PM
Wiring a sub panel to another sub panel Uncle Wayne Electrical 25 02-08-2011 10:50 AM
Sub panel wiring question mntnvew Electrical 13 03-02-2009 12:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts