Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-17-2012, 02:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

sub panel wire type


about to run 100A sub panel to my attached garage (someone thought it a good idea to have one circuit feed the garage for lights, single outlet, garage door opener and attic light) I have determined that i should be using #3AWG copper to feed the panel and am planning on running individual conductors in conduit through the basement wall and into the garage.

I was given enough Exane Supranent (http://www.electrowire.com/exane-1069a1093/) 1069A #3AWG cable, it is rated to 125 degrees C, rated to 2000V and its specs are better than thhn, thwn, twn, etc. Is there something in the NEC that would prevent me from using this? I cannot find anything that specifies what you can/can't use (might just be looking in the wrong places)

any help is appreciated, I don't want to put this into my house if it is not to code (even though its specs are better than what I would be installing), but saving the $150 would do wonders for my budget.

reengineered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 03:15 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

sub panel wire type


Looks like automotive wire to me.

rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 03:29 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Default

sub panel wire type


it is locomotive wire, according to the spec sheet. does that matter if it exceeds the specifications of the wire that would be installed in a house?
reengineered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 03:54 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

sub panel wire type


Looks like it would make a really beefy set of jumper cables but don't think code would allow that fine stranded wire for sub panel.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 04:09 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 717
Default

sub panel wire type


Nice wire, for a train.

Look up Chapter 310 in the NEC. I don't think your wire will meet the requirements. This is the 2005 NEC.

310.11 Marking.
(A) Required Information. All conductors and cables
shall be marked to indicate the following information, using
the applicable method described in 310.11(B):
(1) The maximum rated voltage
(2) The proper type letter or letters for the type of wire or
cable as specified elsewhere in this Code
(3) The manufacturer’s name, trademark, or other distinctive
marking by which the organization responsible for
the product can be readily identified
(4) The AWG size or circular mil area
(5) Cable assemblies where the neutral conductor is smaller
than the ungrounded conductors shall be so marked

It also needs to be one of these types depending upon where how it's used:

310.8 Locations.
(A) Dry Locations. Insulated conductors and cables used in
dry locations shall be any of the types identified in this Code.

(B) Dry and Damp Locations. Insulated conductors and
cables used in dry and damp locations shall be Types FEP,
FEPB, MTW, PFA, RHH, RHW, RHW-2, SA, THHN,
THW, THW-2, THHW, THHW-2, THWN, THWN-2, TW,
XHH, XHHW, XHHW-2, Z, or ZW.

(C) Wet Locations. Insulated conductors and cables used
in wet locations shall be
(1) Moisture-impervious metal-sheathed;
(2) Types MTW, RHW, RHW-2, TW, THW, THW-2, THHW,
THHW-2, THWN, THWN-2, XHHW, XHHW-2, ZW; or
(3) Of a type listed for use in wet locations.
AandPDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 04:18 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

sub panel wire type


How far is it from the main panel and have you considered using aluminum?
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 04:49 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Default

sub panel wire type


it is about 25ft, If i am understanding things correctly i would need 2/0 aluminum for 100A, larger than the cable size that the breaker that I have is rated for. Also I already have 4AWG copper to use for the ground (and neutral as well? another question I had)
reengineered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 04:55 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

sub panel wire type


1/0 would be plenty for 100 amps.

You could buy 1/0 4 Wire SER for less than 2 bucks a foot.

Last edited by rrolleston; 02-17-2012 at 04:57 PM.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 05:02 PM   #9
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,979
Default

sub panel wire type


Quote:
Originally Posted by reengineered View Post
about to run 100A sub panel to my attached garage (someone thought it a good idea to have one circuit feed the garage for lights, single outlet, garage door opener and attic light) I have determined that i should be using #3AWG copper to feed the panel and am planning on running individual conductors in conduit through the basement wall and into the garage.
What is wrong with having one circuit feed the garage for lights, single outlet, garage door opener and attic light? Unless you have additional plans for the garage, why would you add a 100 amp sub-panel?
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 05:03 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

sub panel wire type


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
What is wrong with having one circuit feed the garage for lights, single outlet, garage door opener and attic light? Unless you have additional plans for the garage, why would you add a 100 amp sub-panel?
Always good to have plenty of power in your garage for projects.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 07:45 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, California
Posts: 265
Default

sub panel wire type


reengineered,
We can only speculate on whether your inspector will allow you to use that wire. I'd suggest wandering down to your local permit office with the spec sheet and asking there. Don't be surprised if they say no. On the other hand, they may say sure. Or they may make you jump through hoops in order to be able to use it. For one, I only see markings that the cable passed the UL flame test, not that the cable is UL listed. This might be an oversight on the companies part, or it might not be listed. If the later, you're not using this wire in a house (legally at least).

Also as rrolleston mentioned, you can get aluminium wire for about a third the cost of copper. Additionally, you only need #1 aluminium if you can get at least 75C wire. Most panels and breakers are 60/75 rated, which allow you to use the 75C ratings for wires.
You actually only need #1 Al for a 100A panel.

a_lost_shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cable, exane, subpanel


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type wire to use from transfer switch to outdoor outlet brjl Electrical 32 11-20-2013 08:36 AM
Panel ground and wire size tns1 Electrical 25 09-18-2009 02:53 PM
Ran a wire to an electrical panel for my first time Red Squirrel Electrical 17 07-19-2009 10:09 PM
Panel Upgrades and Aluminum Wire Fearless Freep Electrical 17 10-02-2008 12:45 PM
Pool Sub Panel wire / conduit questions Al the Diy guy Electrical 23 02-03-2008 02:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.