Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2011, 01:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: buffalo,ny
Posts: 31
Share |
Default

sub panel wire gauge size


i recently had my electrical service upgraded and due to a continued lack of breaker positions i plan on using my old smaller breaker box as a subpanel. i will use a 40 or 50 amp 2 pole breaker in the new box to feed the subpanel. what gauge wire do you think i should use from the new breaker to feed the subpanel, maybe 6/3? i will maybe have 5 or 6 romexes coming into the subpanel for now.

pberm1962 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 01:15 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Default

sub panel wire gauge size


Quote:
Originally Posted by pberm1962
i recently had my electrical service upgraded and due to a continued lack of breaker positions i plan on using my old smaller breaker box as a subpanel. i will use a 40 or 50 amp 2 pole breaker in the new box to feed the subpanel. what gauge wire do you think i should use from the new breaker to feed the subpanel, maybe 6/3? i will maybe have 5 or 6 romexes coming into the subpanel for now.
6/3 is the correct size

Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 01:26 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: buffalo,ny
Posts: 31
Default

sub panel wire gauge size


thank you , i will use 6/3
pberm1962 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 02:36 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,896
Default

sub panel wire gauge size


8/3 for 40 amp, 6/3 for 50 amp
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 02:53 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

sub panel wire gauge size


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
6/3 for 50 amp
...or 60A.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 04:16 PM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

sub panel wire gauge size


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
...or 60A.
You gonna clarify why this may be legal? Else some DIyer is gonna think 6/3 NM is good for 60 amps.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 04:39 PM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,896
Default

sub panel wire gauge size


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
You gonna clarify why this may be legal? Else some DIyer is gonna think 6/3 NM is good for 60 amps.
I think he means that #6 is rated for 55 amps and since this is a feeder you can up size to the next standard breaker size (60 amps). As long as the calculated load is not over 55 amps. Personally I like to stay with a 50 amp breaker for #6
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina

Last edited by rjniles; 10-02-2011 at 07:39 PM.
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
Code05 (10-02-2011)
Old 10-02-2011, 05:36 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

sub panel wire gauge size


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
As long as the calculated load is not over 50 amps.
As long as the calculated load is not over 55 amps.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Code05 (10-02-2011)
Old 10-02-2011, 07:40 PM   #9
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,896
Default

sub panel wire gauge size


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
As long as the calculated load is not over 55 amps.
I meant that but my finger slipped thanks for the correction.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 07:48 PM   #10
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

sub panel wire gauge size


Hate to spoil this party....but whatever guage you wind up with....you will still need a 4th wire for a ground for the sub-panel. And the ground must be bonded to the sub-panel, and the neutral isolated.....just saying.....
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 10:02 PM   #11
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

sub panel wire gauge size


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
I think he means that #6 is rated for 55 amps and since this is a feeder you can up size to the next standard breaker size (60 amps). As long as the calculated load is not over 55 amps. Personally I like to stay with a 50 amp breaker for #6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
As long as the calculated load is not over 55 amps.
Thank you, that is why I posted my earlier response.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 10:08 PM   #12
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

sub panel wire gauge size


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Hate to spoil this party....but whatever guage you wind up with....you will still need a 4th wire for a ground for the sub-panel. And the ground must be bonded to the sub-panel, and the neutral isolated.....just saying.....
Modern 6/3 NM has a #10 ground. 4 wires total.

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (10-03-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new sub panel BlueBSH Electrical 11 01-22-2012 08:28 AM
mixed gauge wire on 15 amp circuit GretaDIY Electrical 4 07-03-2010 03:20 PM
Size wire for A/C, A/H and Range? tripflex Electrical 6 06-07-2010 10:38 AM
What size wire for 100 amp sub panel Bean Electrical 7 01-24-2010 07:31 PM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 05:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.