Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2009, 07:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 21
Share |
Default

Sub panel recommendation


I'm finishing my basement and determined that I need a subpanel because I only have 3 slots left in my 200a main panel and I have 7-8 more circuits to install to complete the basement.

Those 7-8 circuits are:

2 - 20a circuits for wetbar recepts (GFI) and home theater
5 or 6 - 15a circuits (AFCI) for recepts and lighting for office, and other rooms

I plan to use two of the remaining slots in the main panel for the breaker that will feed the subpanel, but I'd like to know recommendations on what size subpanel (60 amp or larger?), and what size corresponding breaker to feed the subpanel? I have some extra 8-3 and 6-3 wire leftover from another project, and the subpanel will be able to be located right beside the main panel in the basement panel room.

Also, if possible given everything mentioned above, I'd like to have 2-3 slots left over for any future expansion just in case.

Let me know if I'm leaving any necessary info out.

Thanks!!

Straightgrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 08:35 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Sub panel recommendation


I'd put a 100a panel in
Then you can feed it with #6 & use a 60a breaker ($17 maybe)
If you need heavy duty power then feed it with 100a breaker (53?)

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 08:45 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,730
Default

Sub panel recommendation


Like scuba said, put in a 100 amp main lug panel, feed it with a 60 amp breaker and use the 6/3.
Make sure to get a ground bar for the sub and seperate the ground and neutral wires.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 06:13 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 21
Default

Sub panel recommendation


Got it....thanks guys!
Straightgrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 11:46 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Sub panel recommendation


Search "sub panels" on this forum for further information if needed. There many, many threads on this topic.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 11:46 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Sub panel recommendation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I'd put a 100a panel in
Then you can feed it with #6 & use a 60a breaker ($17 maybe)
If you need heavy duty power then feed it with 100a breaker ($53?)
Just to be clear

You need to use different wire if you are going to feed it with 100a
The #6 is good for the 60a 240v

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 02:37 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.