Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-26-2011, 04:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 111
Share |
Default

Sub panel questions


So because I cannot have a common neutral/ground in the sub-panel how do I deal with running all the grounds to one side and neutrals to the other? The 40 space Siemens box has two isolated bars, that may/may-not be common.

Can I/ should I connect them and add a ground bar kit? But then I don't have a big lug connection for the ground.

Should I split them and run all the neutrals to one side and grounds to the other?

bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 08:38 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,747
Default

Sub panel questions


Most siemens panels have a copper jumper from one bar to the other.
Disconnect the bar, install the green screw on one of the bars, and use that as your ground, and the other bar as your neutral.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 08:22 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 111
Default

Sub panel questions


It just seems kind of messy to run all the grounds to one side and all the neutrals to the other.
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 08:43 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 25
Default

Sub panel questions


I know it's tedious... but ground and neutral must be isolated, unless you go through a transformer in which case you may connect the two.
asfyxation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 09:05 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 111
Default

Sub panel questions


Is it not worth it to have two neutral bars and two ground bars, one of each on each side?
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 10:07 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 25
Default

Sub panel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by bkvanbek View Post
Is it not worth it to have two neutral bars and two ground bars, one of each on each side?
That's new to me, so I can't answer on that. However if your panel is rated for it, you can double up on the wires to save on space. Definitely check to make sure though.
asfyxation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 10:23 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,747
Default

Sub panel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by bkvanbek View Post
Is it not worth it to have two neutral bars and two ground bars, one of each on each side?
Nothing stopping you from doing that, but time and money!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 01:48 PM   #8
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Sub panel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by asfyxation View Post
That's new to me, so I can't answer on that. However if your panel is rated for it, you can double up on the wires to save on space. Definitely check to make sure though.
Nope.

408.41 Grounded Conductor Terminations. Each
grounded conductor shall terminate within the panelboard
in an individual terminal that is not also used for another
conductor.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
asfyxation (08-28-2011)
Old 08-29-2011, 04:00 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 90
Default

Sub panel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by bkvanbek View Post
So because I cannot have a common neutral/ground in the sub-panel how do I deal with running all the grounds to one side and neutrals to the other? The 40 space Siemens box has two isolated bars, that may/may-not be common.

Can I/ should I connect them and add a ground bar kit? But then I don't have a big lug connection for the ground.

Should I split them and run all the neutrals to one side and grounds to the other?
Sounds like the same box I have in my garage. All of the grounds are connected to the left bar. The copper ground cable is connected at the bottom hole. There is a tab bonding the ground bar to the box.

All of the neutral wires are connected to the right bar. The bracket that connected the two bars was removed (and is laying at the bottom of the box).

They did a very neat job running the wires. The ground and white separate where the Romex comes in the box. The wires are routed along the edge of their respective side and then make a 90 degree bend and run to the hole in the bar, starting with the top hole.

brgmgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More Sub Panel Questions rdkng07 Electrical 6 05-25-2011 08:46 AM
New Breaker Panel Questions AvalonGirl Electrical 10 06-02-2010 10:20 AM
Passing wire to another panel theatretch85 Electrical 5 09-20-2009 11:09 PM
Service panel and general questions reddman Electrical 3 05-12-2009 11:54 AM
Moving several circuits to sub panel WoodworkerDave Electrical 2 09-27-2008 02:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.