Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-15-2011, 11:33 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 21
Share |
Default

Sub panel questions


Yes I plan on putting in a sub panel either way. I'm just asking if I need to install a main breaker panel since I want more than 6 slots. Or can I use a main lug. Gas appliances.........but well pumpp, pressure tank, central air, dishwasher, mechanical septic.....I don't believe I would be coming close to overloading my panel

dimyself121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 11:48 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Sub panel questions


Sorry...I don't believe I will be overloading my service.....what are the possible consequences of not pulling a permit
dimyself121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 11:55 AM   #18
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,882
Default

Sub panel questions


Not pulling a permit, when you get ready to sell the house, they could come back and tell you to open everything up, and charge you a killing, and worst case, have you rip everything out. As for load, it depends on what you plan on running at the same time out there, that could stress the system for the rest of the house, is really the only thing I can think of with adding more onto your existing service.

Post the brand & model of the current panel, and if you have questions about hooking up, can post pictures of the panel with the cover off of it.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 01:40 PM   #19
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Sub panel questions


If you don't pull your permits and your HOer's insurance finds out about it they will drop you. If you get dropped you're gonna have a bad problem with your mortgage.

Also, if you have a fire and they find out they will not pay.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 08:42 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Sub panel questions


If I want a sub panel with more than 6 spots in my attached garage, should I use a main breaker panel or a main lug panel? And can I use either or? I have read if you have more than 6 breakers in your sub. It cannot be main lug. Is this true?
dimyself121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 09:50 PM   #21
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,882
Default

Sub panel questions


A main panel can be used as a sub. You just have to size the upstream breaker in the main panel accordingly. It depends on your load, and since you plan on doing 60 amp, no more, you could keep the 100 amp in the panel you want to use, just use the 60 amp breaker in your main, and wire per spec's as already noted. As long as you do not exceed six throws for disconnect, you should be fine.

Sit down and draw out what you want on paper, then find out what you need to file for the permit. You can purchase all of the materials and have them ready, just until you get the permit, you are unable to perform any scope of the work, with the exception of doing planning. You should be able to get it done in one weekend, as long as no one bothers you to have to go do errands, etc.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 09:24 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Sub panel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
A main panel can be used as a sub. You just have to size the upstream breaker in the main panel accordingly. It depends on your load, and since you plan on doing 60 amp, no more, you could keep the 100 amp in the panel you want to use, just use the 60 amp breaker in your main, and wire per spec's as already noted. As long as you do not exceed six throws for disconnect, you should be fine.

Sit down and draw out what you want on paper, then find out what you need to file for the permit. You can purchase all of the materials and have them ready, just until you get the permit, you are unable to perform any scope of the work, with the exception of doing planning. You should be able to get it done in one weekend, as long as no one bothers you to have to go do errands, etc.
So it's true that you can't have more than six breakers in a subpanel
dimyself121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 09:29 AM   #23
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Sub panel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by dimyself121 View Post
So it's true that you can't have more than six breakers in a subpanel
Nope.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 09:29 AM   #24
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,787
Default

Sub panel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by dimyself121 View Post
So it's true that you can't have more than six breakers in a subpanel
No, it is NOT true.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 09:32 AM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Sub panel questions


So gregzoll's last comment is incorrect ...please explain

Or does he mean? IF I exceed six pulls I need a main breaker panel

Last edited by dimyself121; 08-16-2011 at 09:35 AM.
dimyself121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 09:51 AM   #26
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Sub panel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by dimyself121 View Post
So gregzoll's last comment is incorrect ...please explain

Or does he mean? IF I exceed six pulls I need a main breaker panel
A sub panel in the same structure does not need a main nor is it limited to 6 breakers.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 10:34 AM   #27
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,882
Default

Sub panel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by dimyself121 View Post
So gregzoll's last comment is incorrect ...please explain

Or does he mean? IF I exceed six pulls I need a main breaker panel
Six throws to disconnect, means that it should not take more than six moves to disconnect power from any device on any panel. You can have as many breakers as the panel can handle. In commercial applications, you have a main, then a panel for subs or large tools, then a lighting panel, panel for receptacles, and also if the application warrants, a panel for a genset.

In your application, since you are just installing that sub to allow for growth out in the garage, if you only need six breakers to supply all of the tools you are going to be using, due to most likely will not be hard wiring any, and may have two that use the same receptacle, you may only need six.

Keep in mind, that you are going to have to sit down and draw up what you exactly what to do with this space, regarding having convenience outlets and convenience lighting possibly on that panel, along with the breakers for the larger tools.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
dimyself121 (08-16-2011)
Old 08-16-2011, 10:39 AM   #28
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,641
Default

Sub panel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by dimyself121
So gregzoll's last comment is incorrect ...please explain

Or does he mean? IF I exceed six pulls I need a main breaker panel
The six motions of the hand rule applies to all structures. Power to a building has to be disconnected with no more then six motions of the hand. It has nothing to do with subpanels or devices.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.

Last edited by electures; 08-16-2011 at 10:48 AM.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
Code05 (08-16-2011), dimyself121 (08-16-2011)
Old 08-16-2011, 11:00 AM   #29
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Sub panel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Six throws to disconnect, means that it should not take more than six moves to disconnect power from any device on any panel.

Huh?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 11:20 AM   #30
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,882
Default

Sub panel questions


Electures clarified what I was meaning.

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More Sub Panel Questions rdkng07 Electrical 6 05-25-2011 08:46 AM
New Breaker Panel Questions AvalonGirl Electrical 10 06-02-2010 10:20 AM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 05:26 AM
Service panel and general questions reddman Electrical 3 05-12-2009 11:54 AM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.