Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-15-2011, 08:49 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 21
Share |
Question

Sub panel questions


I'm installing a sub panel in my garage off of my 100 amp service. My city requires you to abide by the NEC 2002. I pulled 1 1/4" schedule 40 30" deep with rigid vertically. The run is about 15' with 4-#4s. I have a 12 slot Siemens panel that can be main lug or main breaker that I'm going to use as my sub. Going to put a dual pull 60A as my feed to the sub.off of my service.

Do I need grounding rods? Or is my #4 to the service ok by itself?

Is the Siemens panel I have ok to use?

I have read if you have more than 6 spaces you can't use a main lug. Is this correct? And if so should I put ground rods.

Intended breakers
20a-compressor. 20a-oulets. 15a-fridge. 15a-outlets. 15a-lights. 15a-ext. Lights + landscaping


Last edited by dimyself121; 08-15-2011 at 09:54 AM. Reason: post #6 explains about garage being attached or detached
dimyself121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 09:02 AM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,972
Default

Sub panel questions


There is plenty of info on here about what you are going to be doing. Do they plan on updating to a more newer NEC anytime soon? Check out what your local requires regarding the ground rod out at the structure, due to they are in a older NEC. Here is some info to help you out More Clarification on Detached Garage Sub-Panel The picture that Stubbie posted in that one, if I recall follows the 2008 NEC.

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 09:07 AM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,825
Default

Sub panel questions


A seperate structure requires a main disconnect(main breaker in the panel).
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 09:26 AM   #4
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

Sub panel questions


He never said whether or not his garage is detached.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 09:29 AM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,972
Default

Sub panel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
He never said whether or not his garage is detached.
If he is pulling a sub out there, unless he uses emt, he will have to treat it as the rules state, regarding the sub. You are correct though, he did not state that it was detached, so everyone is going to assume the rules regarding detached structures.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 09:42 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Sub panel questions


I believe it is considered attached. The garage was built detached 6ft. Away from the house, 5yrs after the house was built but now they are connected with a permanent mud room
dimyself121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 09:44 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Sub panel questions


Would you consider it attached or detached?
dimyself121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 09:46 AM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,825
Default

Sub panel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
He never said whether or not his garage is detached.
Sure. I'll bet his main panel is in the garage and that the garage has a dirt floor.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 09:56 AM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,972
Default

Sub panel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by dimyself121 View Post
I believe it is considered attached. The garage was built detached 6ft. Away from the house, 5yrs after the house was built but now they are connected with a permanent mud room
Do you know if the mudroom changes were done with permits? In relation to the garage, where does the main from the POCO come into the house, along with location of the current main panel?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 09:59 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Sub panel questions


No! I have a 24x30 garage......cement floor with a 100amp service in my utility room which is about 15 ft away. Which now are connected by a mud room which also has a cement floor along with walls and a roof. Unfortunately no dirt
dimyself121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 10:05 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Sub panel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Do you know if the mudroom changes were done with permits? In relation to the garage, where does the main from the POCO come into the house, along with location of the current main panel?
Yes the main is about 15' away in the utility room. I came out the house rigid for the vertical pieces and ran schedule 40 for the underground horizontal portion .. I believe they pulled permits but I'm unsure. Just bought house 9 months ago
dimyself121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 10:16 AM   #12
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,825
Default

Sub panel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by dimyself121 View Post
No! I have a 24x30 garage......cement floor with a 100amp service in my utility room which is about 15 ft away. Which now are connected by a mud room which also has a cement floor along with walls and a roof. Unfortunately no dirt
I stand corrected. After further explanation IMO that is an attached garage. No need for ground rods with a four wire feeder.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
dimyself121 (08-15-2011), gregzoll (08-15-2011)
Old 08-15-2011, 10:23 AM   #13
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,972
Default

Sub panel questions


See brcc, that is why I like you. Your answers are straightforward and do not skirt the question, nor get too far in depth that you need to read between the lines in what you are trying to tell the other person.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 10:53 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Sub panel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
I stand corrected. After further explanation IMO that is an attached garage. No need for ground rods with a four wire feeder.
So is the panel I asked about in my original post ok to use as a sub
dimyself121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 11:19 AM   #15
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,972
Default

Sub panel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by dimyself121 View Post
So is the panel I asked about in my original post ok to use as a sub
Yes, since you are wanting to have disconnects close to where you are working at. That is the main purpose of a sub-panel, besides extending a main panel for more spaces, so that you do not have to pay to install a larger panel. Just make sure that your existing 100 amp service, is going to be able to handle the extra load that you are going to be placing on it. What electric appliances do you have in the home already? Do you have electric heat, electric stove, electric dryer, electric water heater, heat pump?

You are also welcome to post a picture of your existing main panel if you wish, for further input on this update from those that can let you know, so you have enough info to file the permits if needed with your local.

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More Sub Panel Questions rdkng07 Electrical 6 05-25-2011 08:46 AM
New Breaker Panel Questions AvalonGirl Electrical 10 06-02-2010 10:20 AM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 05:26 AM
Service panel and general questions reddman Electrical 3 05-12-2009 11:54 AM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.