Sub-Panel Q.s - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2009, 02:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Sub-Panel Q.s


I am looking to have a sub-panel installed, but have a few questions since I will do the wiring to the panel but have a licensed electrician do the final hook up from panel to panel. First off, the county I live in uses NEC 2008. So in light of this, rather than run 4 wires to the main, is it permitted to run the 3 wires and set up a grounding rod(s) outside. This is an attached garage

Advertisement

angrysmileyface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 02:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Sub-Panel Q.s


No. You need 4 wires but no ground rod.

Advertisement

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 02:52 PM   #3
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Sub-Panel Q.s


Under the 2008 NEC, it's 4 wires detached or attached. The only difference is a detached structure needs its own grounding electrode, an attached structure does not.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 03:17 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Sub-Panel Q.s


Alrighty then. Guess that means I will be adding a length of conduit with a 4th conductor to my plans. Electrician I talked with said it could be done with 3-wires and ground rod.
angrysmileyface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 03:38 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Sub-Panel Q.s


Quote:
Originally Posted by angrysmileyface View Post
Alrighty then. Guess that means I will be adding a length of conduit with a 4th conductor to my plans. Electrician I talked with said it could be done with 3-wires and ground rod.
Fire this guy before he starts. He doesn't know what's he talking about. He did know this was an attached garage, right?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 04:05 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Sub-Panel Q.s


He knew, but yet I am not sure if he is using an older version of the code. Good part is nothing is in place permanently. Can SEU be run in conduit without derating it?
angrysmileyface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 05:10 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Sub-Panel Q.s


Quote:
Originally Posted by angrysmileyface View Post
He knew, but yet I am not sure if he is using an older version of the code. Good part is nothing is in place permanently. Can SEU be run in conduit without derating it?
SEU or SER? Why would you use cable in conduit?

Last edited by jerryh3; 07-22-2009 at 05:18 PM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 06:40 PM   #8
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Sub-Panel Q.s


Doesn't matter what version of the code he is using, even going back to the 60s maybe. A 4-wire feeder has always been required for an attached structure.

Advertisement

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 11:39 PM
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 03:37 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 11:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 04:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts