Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-29-2011, 11:18 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

Sub Panel Installation


Building an addition to my house, master BR, bath, laundry. Plans call for a 100A subpanel, exterior mounted. 9 circuits.

-can the panel be mounted after the stucco is installed, as long as the mounting screws are long enough to penetrate the OSB sheathing?

-can all 9 circuit cables enter the back of the panel through the same 2" knockout? it's the only knockout on the back of the panel, and i'd rather not have 5-10 penetrations through the side of the house, if i can have one that's hidden by the panel itself. i'm not sure if there's a clamp that would hold all of the cables in that 2" knockout though.

-i bought a 6 space, 12 circuit panel. planned on using slimline breakers, but maybe a panel with more spaces would have been more appropriate...

thanks guys.

ironnickwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 11:25 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SE Mass
Posts: 87
Default

Sub Panel Installation


Are you sure they mean exterior, as in outside?
That's not common, a watertight panel is rather expensive, and could be prone to moisture problems.
Maybe they meant surface mounted?

You mentioned you bought a panel, it would need to be weatherproof.
A six circuit is too small, you don't want to plan ahead with slim-line breakers and no room for expansion.
Also you will need arc-fault breakers, which may not be available in slim-line.

Do It Right is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 11:34 AM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,787
Default

Sub Panel Installation


3R panels are not overly expensive. Yes, unless you have an inspector that objects, use a short PVC nipple through the wall to accomodate your cables.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 11:53 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Sub Panel Installation


the panel i bought was a outdoor/rainproof Square D enclosure. tried to keep it as small as possible, but definitely need more spaces, room for expansion, good call.
and definitely need AFCI breakers, didn't realize they don't come slimline. thanks a bunch.
ironnickwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 05:36 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SE Mass
Posts: 87
Default

Sub Panel Installation


IronNick,
Why does the panel need to be outside?
Do It Right is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 09:33 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Sub Panel Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Do It Right
IronNick,
Why does the panel need to be outside?
I suppose it doesn't have to be. Plans call for it to be outside. Feeder cable from main panel would hit new addition at the bathroom. If I put the panel at same point just inside instead of outside it would be either above toilet or above vanity. I'm guessing that's why plans were drawn the way they are.
ironnickwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 10:18 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

Sub Panel Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Do It Right View Post
Are you sure they mean exterior, as in outside?
That's not common, a watertight panel is rather expensive, and could be prone to moisture problems.
Maybe they meant surface mounted?

You mentioned you bought a panel, it would need to be weatherproof.
A six circuit is too small, you don't want to plan ahead with slim-line breakers and no room for expansion.
Also you will need arc-fault breakers, which may not be available in slim-line.
Electric panels mounted on the exterior are common here in Southern Califorina.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 10:43 AM   #8
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,534
Default

Sub Panel Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by ironnickwhite View Post
I suppose it doesn't have to be. Plans call for it to be outside. Feeder cable from main panel would hit new addition at the bathroom. If I put the panel at same point just inside instead of outside it would be either above toilet or above vanity. I'm guessing that's why plans were drawn the way they are.
An electrical panel cannot be in a bathroom, so it would either have to go outside or in another room (hallway, laundry, or bedroom, if you can meet the clearance requirements).
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 11:00 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SE Mass
Posts: 87
Default

Sub Panel Installation


Given the choice, I'd put it in a room or hallway, and hide it behind a hinged mirror or painting (like they do at resorts).
Do It Right is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 12:05 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Sub Panel Installation


I'm in southern Arizona so I'm guessing exterior mounted isn't too big of a deal. Less than 8" of precipitation per year and only a handful of frosts...
ironnickwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 09:18 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Sub Panel Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by ironnickwhite View Post
I'm in southern Arizona so I'm guessing exterior mounted isn't too big of a deal. Less than 8" of precipitation per year and only a handful of frosts...
It's very common to have them mounted externally here in Colorado and we get a lot more cold weather and precipitation than AZ.

InmatesRunWild is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sub-panel, subpanel


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subpanel next to Main panel wired the same in 1990 Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-20-2011 12:43 AM
Extending Old Main Circuit Panel lkpowell Electrical 4 10-23-2008 02:15 PM
Moving several circuits to sub panel WoodworkerDave Electrical 2 09-27-2008 02:05 PM
Panel Placement In Outbuilding smitty286 Electrical 3 03-31-2008 12:20 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.