Sub Panel Help - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2014, 06:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Sub Panel Help


I am adding a new addition to a house. 28 x 24. I will have 5 light switches, 16 lights, & 30 outlets. 2 will be for TV's. Can someone tell me what size circuit breaker I will need for this. I will be running a subpanel that is separate from the main subpanel. The meter is about 100' away from the house and addition. The main service panel is a 200 amp. Any help would be appreciated.

Advertisement

Bobshan3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 07:22 PM   #2
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,345
Rewards Points: 2,268
Default

Sub Panel Help


You could run a load calculation to determine the required ampacity of the subpanel, but likely a 100A 240V subpanel would be fine, with a 100A main breaker acting as a disconnect. Do check with your local building inspector or wiring official before you begin to make sure you understand all applicable NEC requirements, and local requirements.

You may be able to install a smaller panel, but you really are not going to save a lot of money vs. a 100A panel, and you will not save a lot of money on the required cable from the main to the subpanel either, so if it were me I would go for a 100A subpanel. Plenty of capacity if you need to expand later, like a hot tub or something that draws significant current.

Advertisement

Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Daniel Holzman For This Useful Post:
Bobshan3 (12-16-2014)
Old 12-15-2014, 08:13 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 2,058
Default

Sub Panel Help


From your description I would say 3 - 15 amp 120v circuits.

Up to you what size feeder you want to install. 30, 40, 60,100 ??

Anything else going in. AC? Heat? The hot tub as mentioned ?
Anything else like outside floods, pool, landscape lighting?

If hot tubs or pools are possible in the future maybe make the ground conductor insulated.
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ritelec For This Useful Post:
Bobshan3 (12-16-2014)
Old 12-16-2014, 02:45 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Sub Panel Help


Nothing else going in. I appreciate your help.
Bobshan3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub panel to sub panel feeding tvfd27 Electrical 1 08-21-2012 04:01 PM
Section 310.15(B)(6) vs. 210.4. Don't assume, call your friendly AHJs! Daneel Electrical 3 04-11-2012 08:24 AM
Sub Panel SoxFan Electrical 2 12-02-2008 11:16 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 04:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts