Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-30-2012, 02:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

sub panel help


Hi,
I have a 220 line from a range that was used prior to us installing a gas range. It's a 50amp line that is now unused. I would like to use that line to feed a sub panel that would allow me to add two circuits for a swimming pool plus a circuit or two for a hobby area in my basement.

The problem... the range line has two hot wires and one neutral, no ground. I can't easily pull another wire because the main panel is in a closet in the finished area of the basement with no easy way to pull new wire. So, how can I get a fourth wire over to where I want to put my new panel?

The previous owner converted the electric water heater from electric to gas, so I also have a 220, 30amp feed left over from that... Can I convert the hot lines from that into grounds and extend them over to the new sub panel?

Any other ideas?

Thanks.

Dougget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 02:39 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,942
Default

sub panel help


You have SE cable - 2 insulated hots and a bare ground. You cannot use to feed a panel. You need 2 hots a neutral and a ground - 4 wire feed.

And a big no to you plans to combine 2 old circuits. You need a new cable back to the panel.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 03:22 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,787
Default

sub panel help


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
You have SE cable - 2 insulated hots and a bare ground. You cannot use to feed a panel. You need 2 hots a neutral and a ground - 4 wire feed.

And a big no to you plans to combine 2 old circuits. You need a new cable back to the panel.
I would respectfully add, an insulated neutral.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 07:29 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default

sub panel help


Yeah, I kinda knew that wasn't a good way to go.

How about making the sub panel a 110 only panel. Use one of the existing hots as a hot, convert the other to neutral, and use the existing bare neutral as a ground?

I'll replace the duplex 50 amp breaker with a single breaker in the main box.

How would that work?

Doug
Dougget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 07:33 PM   #5
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

sub panel help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougget View Post
Yeah, I kinda knew that wasn't a good way to go.

How about making the sub panel a 110 only panel. Use one of the existing hots as a hot, convert the other to neutral, and use the existing bare neutral as a ground?

I'll replace the duplex 50 amp breaker with a single breaker in the main box.

How would that work?

Doug
That can be done. Just be midful of the loads because the neutral will take all the load in a 120 panel, rather than the reduced load a 240 panel has on the neutral.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?

Last edited by Missouri Bound; 09-30-2012 at 07:35 PM.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub panel to sub panel feeding tvfd27 Electrical 1 08-21-2012 03:01 PM
Section 310.15(B)(6) vs. 210.4. Don't assume, call your friendly AHJs! Daneel Electrical 3 04-11-2012 07:24 AM
Sub Panel SoxFan Electrical 2 12-02-2008 10:16 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.