Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-21-2012, 10:07 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Philadelphia Area
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 25
Default

sub panel grounding


I've seen similar posts to this already, but missing one of my questions so far. So here it is.

I have an addition onto our house that has a sub panel run to it already. This panel was feeding the supplemental baseboard heat, the outside AC unit, and a few outlets in the addition. I am ripping out all of the baseboard heat and redoing the electrical in the addition. I wanted to use this sub panel as it has room and is directly under this addition. Easy to wire to. The sub panel does not have a grounding bar in it. It does have a neutral bar separated on plastic. The wire running from the main is 2 phase 3 wire? It only has 2 leads (red) and a neutral (white). No ground wire.

The panel still needs to run the outside AC unit which is 220. It has two 30amp breakers. They took the ground wire to the AC unit and is connected to the neutral bar. The other wire in the box that was feeding the outlets has its ground connected to the box itself onto the fittings screw. I also plan on installing 2-3 more 15amp breakers to run the electrical inside that addition.

Can I just add a ground bar in there? Do I need to run new wire that includes a ground to that sub panel?

I know you can't bound the ground and neutral in a subpanel, you can't have parallel return paths back to the main. My main has a separate ground block but I'm not sure if it's bonded to the neutral there or not. At this moment (old box and wiring) I do not have anything grounded to rods outside. It is still grounded to the water pipe. I plan on having someone come upgrade my main box in the near future as well.

jgrohol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:10 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

sub panel grounding


How has the sub feed been run? NM, SE, Metallic conduit, PVC?

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:32 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Philadelphia Area
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 25
Default

sub panel grounding


Yes this is existing panel that was installed with addition about 20yrs ago. It's metallic conduit. Runs outside the house from main panel in garage to addition.
jgrohol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:34 AM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

sub panel grounding


Install a ground bar in the sub and make sure there is no bonding screw installed in the sub.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:37 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Philadelphia Area
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 25
Default

sub panel grounding


Because of the metallic conduit back I don't need a separate going wire? I don't believe there is a bonding screw in that box.
jgrohol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:52 AM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

sub panel grounding


The metallic conduit it your grounding conductor.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub Panel GND and mixed 240/120 VAC branch curiousB Electrical 12 01-17-2012 10:49 AM
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 02:54 PM
Electrical Sub Panel Grounding KellyElaine Electrical 17 01-17-2011 06:46 PM
Main grounding electrode wire to panel rovers1973 Electrical 4 03-18-2010 06:18 PM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 05:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.