Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-20-2011, 09:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Sub-Panel Grounding?


I had an electrician install a 50-amp sub-panel in my basement a few years ago. He used an existing 3-wire (black, red, white, no ground) 6 gauge cable. It is fed from a 50 amp breaker in the main panel in the attached garage. The ground bus on the sub-panel is connected to the main copper water line by #4 green wire.

Is this proper? I have read on other posts that a sub-panel should be connected to the main panel with 4 wires.

Thanks.

Bicoronal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 09:38 PM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Sub-Panel Grounding?


no it is not proper and never was.

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 10:21 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

Sub-Panel Grounding?


To correct this can the OP just run a ground wire from the main to the sub panel - and leave the existing cable as is?
__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 11:07 PM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Sub-Panel Grounding?


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
To correct this can the OP just run a ground wire from the main to the sub panel - and leave the existing cable as is?
the short answer is NO
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sub panel grounding bcarl Electrical 4 01-23-2011 10:37 PM
Subpanel next to Main panel wired the same in 1990 Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-20-2011 12:43 AM
Electrical Sub Panel Grounding KellyElaine Electrical 17 01-17-2011 06:46 PM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 05:26 AM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.