Sub Panel Grounding - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2011, 11:22 PM   #16
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Sub Panel Grounding


Proximity to a door is not important. Just make sure you have a 30" side space (and the 30" space for this panel can overlap the 30" space for the main panel up to 100%) with 3 feet out from the wall clear. Then under and above the panel, nothing from the floor to the ceiling.

Height: it's either 6' 6" or 6' 7" (can't remember offhand. I think they changed it a couple code cycles ago and never remember the exact number) to the top breaker handle in the up position (if it flips up and down) max height. I generally set the top of the panels at 6'. (which is obviously lower than the max.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 07:05 AM   #17
Member
 
Bluwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: cincinnati, ohio
Posts: 116
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Sub Panel Grounding


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
Proximity to a door is not important. Just make sure you have a 30" side space (and the 30" space for this panel can overlap the 30" space for the main panel up to 100%) with 3 feet out from the wall clear. Then under and above the panel, nothing from the floor to the ceiling.

Height: it's either 6' 6" or 6' 7" (can't remember offhand. I think they changed it a couple code cycles ago and never remember the exact number) to the top breaker handle in the up position (if it flips up and down) max height. I generally set the top of the panels at 6'. (which is obviously lower than the max.
I'm off to Parrottsville, Tennessee that is! Thanks Again, nap!
Bluwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 08:19 AM   #18
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Sub Panel Grounding


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
that would probably be worse than Ely Michigan.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 01:37 PM   #19
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Sub Panel Grounding


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
no offense intended. It's just that I enjoy our weather here. While I do like cold weather, there are limits to what these aging bones can withstand anymore and where I live seems to fit me just right.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sub panel grounding bcarl Electrical 4 01-23-2011 11:37 PM
Subpanel next to Main panel wired the same in 1990 Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-20-2011 01:43 AM
Electrical Sub Panel Grounding KellyElaine Electrical 17 01-17-2011 07:46 PM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 06:26 AM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts