Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2010, 08:27 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: north carolina
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

sub panel ground and neutral


I have a question about the ground and neutral on a sub panel---everything I've read on here says that the neutral and ground has to be seperate in the sub panel. It looks like in my main 200 amp panel I have the large ground wire coming in that attaches to a ground bar for each side. That bar(s) has neutral and ground attached to it. So I would run two wires from that bar in the main panel to the sub panel. One wire for neutral and one wire for ground. Then attach the ground wire and neutral wire to seperate bars inside my sub panel. It looks like the inside of the sub panel has three ground bars. Two on the side seem to be attached and the one at the bottom is all by itself. If this is correct does it matter which one I use for the ground? and what size wire should I use for the ground?

also what size wire should I use for the two hot wires from the main panel feeding the sub panel? 100 amp to 100 amp

and last but not least can I run all the wires from the main panel to the sub panel in one conduit and what type of conduit do you recommend?
thanks
Attached Images
  

daddyrabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 08:58 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

sub panel ground and neutral


The top bars are the neutral bars. Neutrals ONLY.
Be sure to remove that green screw in the middle of the connecting bar.

Bottom bar is the ground bar. Grounds ONLY.

Depending on your area and local codes you can run 2/2/4/6AL conductors, or 4/4/6/8CU conductors.
Many areas now require #1AL or #3CU.

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 10:00 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: north carolina
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

sub panel ground and neutral


thanks petey
daddyrabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 06:49 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

sub panel ground and neutral


In a general sense, the terminal strip (bus bar) for the neutrals in a subpanel must not have a metallic connection or path (bonding) to the panel frame (can); rather it must be held on with plastic brackets.

The ground bus bar must be so bonded, either by being affixed directly to clean bare metal or jumpered using a length of wire (pigtail) or a screw or a strip of metal.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 05:26 AM
12v diff between ground and neutral at panel am9518 Electrical 7 02-25-2008 06:28 PM
breaker panel question chadvavra Electrical 11 08-10-2007 09:20 AM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 05:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.