Sub Panel For Generator - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2012, 06:51 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 133
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Sub panel for generator


I would like to install a sub panel off of my main its 200 amp sq d homeline . I want the grounds and neutrals in the sub to so I won't have to worry with unbonding gen . My gen can do 50 amps but the sub would have a good many breakers I'm all elec. what I won't to do is have a inlet on sub from main and be able to unplug that and then plug my gen in . The only plug I see big enough to handle grid power would be a pin and sleeve plug maybe a 125 amp or 150 amp I could manage the load when on gen power . Is there another plug you would know of . I have a bobcat 225 welder I do not want to unbond it but I don't want to run it though the main with a interlock when it's bonded

Advertisement

Kpack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:52 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Sub panel for generator


You cannot do what you want. Its time you do more research on the proper way to connect a generator.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Kpack (11-10-2012)
Old 11-10-2012, 07:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 133
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Sub panel for generator


I have looked at a lot of ways I just want to be totally off the grid where I hook the gen.
Kpack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 08:34 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Sub panel for generator


Don't worry about it being bonded or not. Just run it to an inlet and install an interlock on your panel, and be done with it. You can find one cheap for a Square D panel.
Regination is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Regination For This Useful Post:
Kpack (11-10-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub panel to sub panel feeding tvfd27 Electrical 1 08-21-2012 04:01 PM
Section 310.15(B)(6) vs. 210.4. Don't assume, call your friendly AHJs! Daneel Electrical 3 04-11-2012 08:24 AM
Garage Sub Panel Questions mscanlon01 Electrical 3 07-20-2011 11:03 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 04:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts