Sub Panel In Garage Question ( Grounding) - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2012, 11:25 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

sub panel in garage question ( grounding)


Hello

I am installing a new sub panel in my garage.

I am running 6-3 tech wire to the panel from my 100 amp panel in the house.

The sub panel will be on a 50 amp breaker.

I understand that I need some form of grounding for the panel at the garage.
Can I use a grounding plate or do I have to use grounding rods?

How deep does the plate need to go?

Thanks

Advertisement

onebladerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 11:28 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

sub panel in garage question ( grounding)


If the garage is attached to the house, you need only an EGC. If the garage is not attached to the house, you need the EGC and ground rods. So what you got? Attached or unattached?

Whats tech wire?

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 11:35 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

sub panel in garage question ( grounding)


not attached to the house

Teck wire is armored exterior direct burial wire.

What is the EGC?
onebladerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 11:37 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

sub panel in garage question ( grounding)


EGC = equipment grounding conductor.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 11:39 AM   #5
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,650
Rewards Points: 2,614
Default

sub panel in garage question ( grounding)


Earth Ground Connection....

Basically.....you sink 2 ground rods at the grarge....6-8' feet apart....you connect that ground to the ground buss in your sub panel. You ALSO connect the ground from your load center to the ground buss.

You do NOT connect the neutral and ground together in the sub.....

If your sub is like most....you will need to pick up ground buss to install in the sub.

Plate? Haven't heard that one......unless your talking about an Ufer ground....

Do the rods....keep it simple.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 11:59 AM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

sub panel in garage question ( grounding)


Sounds like the OP is in Canada.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:00 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

sub panel in garage question ( grounding)


ground plates were used for years.just a flat ground rod.telco's used huge copper plates for CO grounds.ours were like a 4x8 copper sheets 1/2 to 3/4" thick.they are buried instead of driven in.nec ref 250.56.250.52(A)(6).250.53(h).
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:42 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 850
Rewards Points: 722
Default

sub panel in garage question ( grounding)


Well a 4' x 8' x 1/2" sheet of copper will cost you about $2,604 at today's copper spot rate. Maybe the ground rods would be a tad bit cheaper......
curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 01:13 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

sub panel in garage question ( grounding)


Quote:
Originally Posted by curiousB View Post
Well a 4' x 8' x 1/2" sheet of copper will cost you about $2,604 at today's copper spot rate. Maybe the ground rods would be a tad bit cheaper......
that is for office ground.they can be copper plated but yes a ground rod is ok.that was an example for d dwagg as he seemed not familler with plates.you can get copper-weld plates just like ground rods.

Advertisement

oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Sub Panel curiousB Electrical 18 08-16-2012 06:42 PM
Sub Panel GND and mixed 240/120 VAC branch curiousB Electrical 12 01-17-2012 11:49 AM
Yet another sub panel question jboggz Electrical 4 06-19-2011 09:27 PM
Garage slab pour, Control joint and grounding question italie Building & Construction 0 05-17-2011 11:02 AM
Next Question, Sub panel in detached garage... OmegaBunny Electrical 5 09-16-2008 12:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts