Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2009, 05:10 PM   #16
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,002
Share |
Default

Sub-panel feed


Does the panel you bought have a main breaker or is it a main lug convertible to main breaker?

You say it has a main breaker knockout which lends to the fact it does not have a main breaker.

Feed thru lugs would allow you to feed thru the meter main to the inside panel main lugs. Your wire size would be for 200 amps ie 2/0 copper or 4/0 al. The 200 amp breaker in the meter main protects the conductors. It will look like below....diagram taken from siemens

This will allow you to get 200 amps to the inside panel on a 3 wire feed (H-H-N) and both panels will be service equipment. The only main breaker you will have is the one at the meter/main. You do not need to run 4 wires just 3 wires and you do not need to separate neutral and ground just install the neutral bar bonding means (green screw). This to me makes the most of what you have in your 200 amp service to the barn and wanting a panel inside.
Attached Thumbnails
Sub-panel feed-feed-thru-lugs.jpg  

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 01-13-2009 at 08:49 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 07:38 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Default

Sub-panel feed


excellent thanks!

What size ground wire would I use to go from one box to the other? Eight?

I know that i have more then i need but it was just easier to do it this way even with the minute additional costs.

Also, here in SW Montana we have a lot of lightening strikes and such in the spring and fall. My electrician said I should install a surge protector in the panel?...??...?? Can anyone provide me with somet insight into this? I checked my home service panel and there is one screwed into the bottom of the panel.

Thanks!
mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 08:58 PM   #18
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,002
Default

Sub-panel feed


Quote:
What size ground wire would I use to go from one box to the other? Eight?
You don't need one..... using the feed thru method to the second downstream panel., just three wires 2/0 cu or 4/0 al.. two hots and a neutral. You do in this case bond the neutral and ground at the inside panel so you install the green screw or whatever bonding means the panel uses. See the green dark colored screw in the second diagram just below the neutral termination lug.
Quote:
I know that i have more then i need but it was just easier to do it this way even with the minute additional costs.
Actually you have just what you need since you want a 200 amp panel inside. If you decide to add anymore panels to the barn then you will use breakers either at the meter main or the inside panel and run 4 wire feeders not 3. Things will be like the first diagram I posted.

Quote:
Also, here in SW Montana we have a lot of lightening strikes and such in the spring and fall. My electrician said I should install a surge protector in the panel?...??...?? Can anyone provide me with some insight into this? I checked my home service panel and there is one screwed into the bottom of the panel.
I would just have your electrician come out and install one that he recommends that can be found locally. I think you will find that if your barn gets a direct hit it won't help much. If a surge comes in over the utility then they may be helpful.

As for your meter main, since they consider it attached, It was probably meant for you to run branch circuits from it to your barn. If it wasn't considered attached then you would be running feeders from it to a panel in your barn but that does'nt make sense based on how they did things. As the crow flys your two panels are only 3 or 4 feet from one another one right outside the barn on posts 30" from the barn structure and the other directly inside.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 01-11-2009 at 09:21 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 09:37 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Default

Sub-panel feed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
You don't need one..... using the feed thru method to the second downstream panel., just three wires 2/0 cu or 4/0 al.. two hots and a neutral. You do in this case bond the neutral and ground at the inside panel so you install the green screw or whatever bonding means the panel uses. See the green dark colored screw in the second diagram just below the neutral termination lug.
Thanks, I see what your saying now, I mistook the neutral for the ground.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Actually you have just what you need since you want a 200 amp panel inside. If you decide to add anymore panels to the barn then you will use breakers either at the meter main or the inside panel and run 4 wire feeders not 3. Things will be like the first diagram I posted.
I wont need any more panels, I only did this because the barn builders wanted 35/day to use their generator (they were here 10 days) and I wanted electric anyway, so I paid my elec company 260 bucks to run power to the 4x4 PT posts I had purchased along with the siemans side by side service panel. In order to more easily wire the barn I didnt want to have to run all my wire through the 2 inch conduit, albeit a short U run, it is something I prefer not to have to do to more easily "diagram" the wires in the future. I told the barn builders to put the barn right on the other side of the permanent service panel and I ran the U conduit today. The extra 100 bucks for the square D, 40 circuit panel & conduit and 2/0 wire will be worth it in the end for my sanity

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
I would just have your electrician come out and install one that he recommends that can be found locally. I think you will find that if your barn gets a direct hit it won't help much. If a surge comes in over the utility then they may be helpful.
OK, thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
As for your meter main, since they consider it attached, It was probably meant for you to run branch circuits from it to your barn. If it wasn't considered attached then you would be running feeders from it to a panel in your barn but that does'nt make sense based on how they did things. As the crow flys your two panels are only 3 or 4 feet from one another one right outside the barn on posts 30" from the barn structure and the other directly inside.
I am not sure what you mean with this last paragraph. The panels, are back to back 18 inches apart, I measured tonight.
mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 11:19 PM   #20
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,002
Default

Sub-panel feed


Quote:
I am not sure what you mean with this last paragraph. The panels, are back to back 18 inches apart, I measured tonight.
I thought you said it was 30" early earlier but don't worry about it it has no bearing on the final outcome.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 12:20 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Default

Sub-panel feed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
I thought you said it was 30" early earlier but don't worry about it it has no bearing on the final outcome.
I was guestimating earlier, I measured today, sorry for the mis-information.

Your assistance has been great!

mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 02:37 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.