Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2013, 02:43 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

sub panel changes


and when i do get the garage done im goingg to have that welder on its own 20 amp circuit bcause its suppose to be anyway.i need a 20 amp 240volt dedicated circuit for another wire feed welder to but thats not a necessity right now

imawelder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 02:48 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

sub panel changes


i was just thinking....if i dont ask for the power then the wires wont heat up.so just a few lights 80%of the time should still be fine right.long as im not crankin on the welder with all the lights and a fan on
imawelder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 02:53 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 254
Default

sub panel changes


Quote:
Originally Posted by imawelder View Post
i want to eliminate the subpanel in my bedroom all together and have the garage feed come from main box via 6-3 on a 60 amp breaker.but time and money are the limiters!!
Roger that Please know I am not a pro, and am just offering thoughts about what I would do.

Maybe something like this:

1. Replace the 60 amp breaker with a 15
2. Unhook all wires in the bedroom subpanel
3. Connect the 12/2 currently feeding the subpanel to your bedroom circuit (black to black, white to white, ground to ground).

Note I would use a 15 amp breaker instead of 20 just in case there is any #14 in the bedroom circuit.

Basically, just turn the 12/2 into a branch circuit homerun for the bedroom circut and use the subpanel into a junction box for same.

I think the biggest downside is your garage would be disconnected until you get it all sorted out, but at least it would be safer at lower cost.
dgfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 02:57 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 254
Default

sub panel changes


Quote:
Originally Posted by imawelder View Post
i was just thinking....if i dont ask for the power then the wires wont heat up.so just a few lights 80%of the time should still be fine right.long as im not crankin on the welder with all the lights and a fan on
When I tihnk about such things I worry more about the things that I can't know would happen. For example, if a low enough impedance short would occur in the fan, the breaker won't trip before letting the wire start a fire. It's all about how much risk you are willing to take. Will sometihng go wrong? dunno.
dgfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 05:52 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 254
Default

sub panel changes


If it were me, I would also replace the unused stove recepticale with a junction box.

Edit - This assumes I understand correctly that the 12/2 is going from main panel to stove receptacle and then to bedroom subpanel.

Last edited by dgfit; 07-09-2013 at 05:54 PM.
dgfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 10:07 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

sub panel changes


it used to feed a stove with all of the rest...and it got used!!!my upstairs was an apt for mama in law of the previous owners.the stove is unhooked from breaker and i left it in the box for now untill i can get it out of the wall
imawelder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 10:08 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

sub panel changes


stove feed.(which was at least on a 6-3 like it should be)
imawelder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 08:40 AM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 254
Default

sub panel changes


Quote:
Originally Posted by imawelder View Post
it used to feed a stove with all of the rest...and it got used!!!my upstairs was an apt for mama in law of the previous owners.the stove is unhooked from breaker and i left it in the box for now untill i can get it out of the wall
Quote:
Originally Posted by imawelder View Post
stove feed.(which was at least on a 6-3 like it should be)
So someone before you disconnected the 6/3 from the 60 amp breaker and wired up a 12/2 wire to the 60 amp breaker to feed a subpanel in your cedrrom that in turn is feeding bedroom circuits (unknown the guage of wire but likely #14) and another subpanel with 10/3 on a 40 amp breaker?

If so I would immediately replace the 60 amp breaker with a 15 amp breaker (again, 15 amps instead of 20 in case there is 14 guage wire in the bedroom circuits). That would improve the safety of overloading the wiring.

I would also immediately disconnect the 12/2 from the bedroom subpanel because you have neutral and grounding problems given 12/2 feeding a subpanel that in turn is feeding another subpanel with 10/3.

You could then wire the 12/2 to the bedroom circuits (black to black, white to white, ground to ground) inside the bedroom subpanel (but not connected to anything inside the subpanel).

Given that you want to eliminate the bedroom subpanel you could then properly run a wire straight to the garage subpanel from your main panel. Just be sure to do all the needed calculations and steps required to do it to code.

Edit - Before doing anytihng, shut off power at the main disconnect. Then, disconnect the 12/2 from the bedroom subpanel, and then make sure the 12/2 is connected properly in the main panel. Black to 15 amp breaker, white to neutral bar and ground to ground bar. If what we are calling the main panel is the main disconnect then the neutral and ground should be bonded. Then, connect the 12/2 to the bedroom circuits. After doing all of the above, then turn the power back on at the main disconnect. The point is to not have power on until you know the 12/2 wire is properly connected. I say this because of your other posts about the bare ground being used as neutral.


Last edited by dgfit; 07-10-2013 at 08:52 AM.
dgfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub panel to sub panel feeding tvfd27 Electrical 1 08-21-2012 04:01 PM
Section 310.15(B)(6) vs. 210.4. Don't assume, call your friendly AHJs! Daneel Electrical 3 04-11-2012 08:24 AM
Sub Panel SoxFan Electrical 2 12-02-2008 11:16 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 04:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.