Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-29-2013, 10:40 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 25
Question

sub panel changes

hello everyone.like the name says im a welder not an electrician!,but i do have some knowlegde and some experience from a 2 year carpentry program in high school(17yrs ago).heres my issues and questions.my main panel in my house is a square d type 200amp.in that panel,a 60 amp breaker supplies power to a stove(but no longer in use),a sub panel in my bedroom, and i suspect from there to a sub in the detatched garage.the bedroom is an addition but not by me.the sub in the bedroom has 3 15 amp breakers, and 1 40 amp breaker which i think sends power to the garage.the feed into the garage is romex 10-3wground.the box has a 100 amp main but the power coming in goes to a 50 amp breaker on the upper left.there are 2-15 amp breakers for some light swithches, a 20 ampdual pole for 6 receptacles,and a 240volt 30 amp(on 12-3) that was for an old compressor.my questions are as follows.1-i have a mig welder that needs 240vvolts,20amps.can i use the 12-3 as 240 volt line or should it be 10-3,and if the welder only requires a 20 amp breaker,would 30 be way too much. 2,if 10-3 feeds the garage does that mean only 30amps availible?

imawelder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 11:01 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 500

sub panel changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by imawelder View Post
1-i have a mig welder that needs 240vvolts,20amps.can i use the 12-3 as 240 volt line or should it be 10-3,and if the welder only requires a 20 amp breaker,would 30 be way too much.
For 240, you need only 2-wires, so 12-2. 20amps sounds awfully small though. Check the metal plate on the welder, copy all the info, and post it, please.

Quote:
2,if 10-3 feeds the garage does that mean only 30amps available?