Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-27-2012, 10:25 AM   #16
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Share |
Default

Sub panel and breaker question


What's the diameter of the cable?
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 10:29 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 15
Default

Sub panel and breaker question


1 1/4" I only did a quick measurement.
Deranged1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 10:52 AM   #18
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Sub panel and breaker question


Have you already bought the cable? There's other more cheaper and easier methods.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 10:53 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 15
Default

Sub panel and breaker question


Cable has been bought, was actually a good price $280 with tax for 36M of it. ACWU90 2 gauge 3 conductor.
Deranged1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 06:38 AM   #20
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Sub panel and breaker question


You have to have a radius of bend roughly 6 times the size of the cable. Acwu is good for use in all locations and for exposed wiring but you may want to sleeve it where there might be a possibility of mechanical damage. As long as the termination is in a dry location you can use almost any normal armoured cable connector. If your over 200a it has to be a non ferrous connector but that's not an issue for you.

What I would do is run it up out of the ground in PVC into a deep box and go through the back of the box into the panel. It will look neater this way than having it run up the side of the wall. You can get 10 inch deep PVC boxes. That should give you enough room to make the bend.

As always contact your inspector to double check what they'll want.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 02:09 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 05:26 AM
Panel History (old Breaker Panel Question) jamiedolan Electrical 3 01-17-2009 03:27 PM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.