Sub Panel To Attic Or Not? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2013, 10:01 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

sub panel to attic or not?


My 112 year old house has three appartments. I'm thinking of re-wiring the two apartments on the second floor from the wide-open attic and dropping the wires down through the walls. I'm considering the cost difference of putting sub panles in the attic vs. running each new circuit up from the basment.

Each appartment is approx. 800 square feet. No washer or dryer, no dishwasher, no garbage disposer, gas range. So not much demand. How many circuits am I likely to need for each appartment and how many 15 amp vs. 20 amp circuits? This will help me calculate the cost differential of running two separate cables and sub panels up to the attic.

I hope I was clear...

Thanks!

Advertisement

ibelieveican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 10:30 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

sub panel to attic or not?


The breaker panels have to be accessible by they people in the apartments.

Advertisement

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 06:36 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,164
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

sub panel to attic or not?


Do you have all the required clearances in the attic to install a sub-panel?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 06:43 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,241
Rewards Points: 2,392
Default

sub panel to attic or not?


I would have a a sub panel installed in each apartment.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 07:25 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

sub panel to attic or not?


rrolleston, if the panels must be accessible by the tenants, I would rather just use the panels already in the basement and just run all new wire up from there.

stickboy, yes I do have the required clearance in the attic, but see above.

rjniles, much harder to put the panels in each apartment, and not worth the trouble at this point, but thanks for the input.
ibelieveican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 07:33 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,164
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

sub panel to attic or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ibelieveican View Post

Each appartment is approx. 800 square feet. No washer or dryer, no dishwasher, no garbage disposer, gas range. So not much demand. How many circuits am I likely to need for each appartment and how many 15 amp vs. 20 amp circuits? This will help me calculate the cost differential of running two separate cables and sub panels up to the attic.

I hope I was clear...

Thanks!
Minimum you would need...

(2) 20 amp circuits for the kitchen/dining area
(1) 20 amp circuit for the Bath room
(2) 15 amp lighting and general purpose circuits

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
ibelieveican (04-23-2013), OCPik4chu (04-24-2013), Philly Master (04-24-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attic access panel options SONofAmrfixit Building & Construction 4 03-24-2013 09:30 AM
Attic insulation suggestions? iwfur25 Insulation 1 07-09-2012 12:50 PM
changing to 200 amp service mbaldwin Electrical 3 03-29-2012 09:00 AM
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 03:09 AM
Mobile Home Electrical Panel Replacement rrolleston Electrical 2 01-28-2012 06:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts